4 Comments

Called to Speak on Adoption

I’m proud to be part of the Blog Hop promoting A Time to Speak. This hop is to spread the word about Nadine Brandes’s new dystopian novel, A Time to Speak, releasing October 16th. It is also to encourage myself and others to speak out for our passions and against injustice. Today I’m speaking out about adoption.

Hashtag-Called2Speak-4-300x228

“They called.”

I took a deep breath before speaking into my cell. “What did they say?”

“The agency has two brothers, nine days old and almost two. They’ve been living in the offices during the day and going to a shelter at night,” my mom said.

I went silent for a moment as I turned my car onto our gravel drive. I was twenty-one and we hadn’t had children in the house since my fifteen year old brother was little. Two children at once, it would be life changing. “Are they free for adoption?” I finally asked.

“Not yet,” my mom said. “The case worker said we could have them for three weeks or three years. The biological parents are still involved.”

“I thought we were only looking into adoption cases.”

My mom sighed. “I know. I just feel like we’re supposed to do this. Your dad is praying about it too.”

I pulled up to the house and sat in the car for a moment. My parents had been looking into adoption for six years, six years of feeling the call of God to adoption, and six years of every door they’d tried being closed in their faces. I believed God wanted our family to adopt too but did He really mean for us to go through the foster care system? Did He really want us to take in children that could be ripped out of our home once we were attached?

That same night Jeremy and Tyler came to live with us. Three years later, their three sisters came to live with us too. Two years after that, all five children were adopted. It’s been official for a year now.

Those five years were some of the best and worst years of our lives, on one hand we grew to love the children to the point that we couldn’t imagine life without them and on the other we lived for five years with the knowledge that every day could be our last together.

The children’s situation was a serious one. The biological parents were addicts and extremely abusive. Most of our scheduled visits consisted of the parents sitting glazed eyed in our kitchen, throwing up in the driveway, or cursing at us and the kids. But they weren’t about to give up their rights and so we played the waiting game.

I remember one night in particular when the biological parents had tried to arrange for another family member to take the children in. We were heartbroken. The case worker had called earlier that day to tell us that it was very possible that the children would be moved the very next day.

I couldn’t handle it anymore. It was winter but I had to get out of the house. We have half a mile long driveway and I went for walk. I remember sobbing and crying out to God to help our family. When I finally came back my dad pulled me to the side. He’d been crying too. I will never forget what he told me.

“We’re never guaranteed tomorrow, Britt. God is just as much in control now as He was the day He sent the kids here and He’s given us tonight. Let’s not waste it.”

The next day passed and they didn’t come for the kids. Another day passed and then another, that’s how we lived through those five years. We lived through them one day at a time. I learned trust in a way I’d never understood it before. It wasn’t just some theological term I’d tucked away to present at church meetings. It was something I’d learned in the hard place, something I’d learned by coming to the complete end of myself and my resources.

In those five years we watched God work over and over again. He worked miracles for our family that were so in your face that all we could do was sit back in grateful shock.
Three years ago my mom and I were in WalMart, three weeks before Christmas, when we got the call that all five children were free to be adopted, best Christmas present ever!

Our story isn’t the story of an amazingly godly family who did something for God and for children. Our story is the story of a completely normal family who God called to do something only He could make possible.

In five years we went from a family of five to a family of ten. I tease my mom that we waited a year for each child. We even drive one of those twelve passenger vans now. We aren’t embarrassed about it anymore. 😉

It’s an amazing feeling knowing that we are an official family now, no more visits, no more signing papers every time we cross state lines, no more fears of someone coming to take family away. It makes me so thankful.

Today I’m speaking out about adoption. It’s not easy. I know it’s not. Even now we’re still working through the typical issues of being a blended family. But it’s not about easy is it? It’s about a great God who’se just as much in control in the hard place as He is in the easy. He’s given us today. What are we going to do with it?

ATimetoSpeak5-663x1024

What happens when you live longer than you wanted to?
Parvin Blackwater wanted to die, but now she’s being called to be a leader. The only problem is, no one wants to follow.
The Council uses Jude’s Clock-matching invention to force “new-and-improved” Clocks on the public. Those who can’t afford one are packed into boxcars like cattle and used for the Council’s purposes.
Parvin and Hawke find themselves on a cargo ship of Radicals headed out to sea. What will the Council do to them? And why are people suddenly dying before their Clocks have zeroed-out?

Book Two in the “Out of Time” series.

Read about the first book, A Time to Die, here

You can learn more about Nadine and her Out of Time series here:

And you can follow the rest of the blog hop here:

9.28.15 – Gretchen Engel
9.30.15 – Nadine Brandes
10.01.15 – Jason Joyner
10.05.15 – Gretchen Engel (part 2)
10.06.15 – Tricia Mingerink
10.08.15 – Gretchen Engel (Scriblerians)
10.09.15 – Emilie Hendryx
10.11.15 – Janeen Ippolito
10.12.15 – Zachary D Totah
10.14.15 – Brittany Valentine
10.15.15 – Andrew Swearingen
10.17.15 – Megan Besing
10.19.15 – Angel Roman
10.20.15 – Charles Franklin
10.21.15 – Lisa Godfrees
10.23.15 – Shantelle Hannu
10.27.15 – Natalie Walters
10.29.15 – The Artist Librarian
11.02.15 – Rosalie Valentine
11.17.15 – Amanda Fender

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/7c244e3116/%22


					
About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

4 comments on “Called to Speak on Adoption

  1. What a beautifully complex, yet amazing story. Thank you for sharing your heart in such a real way. Blessings to you and your family!

  2. Thank you for sharing your story. ❤

Leave a Reply

