6 Comments

Priorities

I’m sitting at my computer, working away at my editing, when it happens.

1236096_317040725109177_1796139878_n

Ding! It’s that special little sound that alerts me of a Facebook notification. I immediately click over to my FB page, the one I’ve conveniently left downsized on my screen. I mean, you never know when you’ll need a little break or burst of inspiration. Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, I need them! They’re a necessary part of my existence, right?

By the time I finally make it back to the story my characters are wandering around half-baked, unsure of where they’ve been or where they’re going. The flow has been broken and it will take me another half-hour to get them all straightened out and back into action. But I still needed my distractions, didn’t I?

I’ve been settling into my editing routine this month and I’ve enjoyed every minute of it, at least every minute that I’m actually working. There’s nothing inherently wrong with Facebook, Twitter, or WordPress. They can be great tools and I really enjoy being able to keep up with friends and family who I don’t get to see very often. You know who you are. 🙂

The problem only begins when these things start to consume my life. If one of the first things I do every day is check Facebook, (I’m making my guilty face right now) than my priorities are pretty messed up. When my priorities are messed up, I can be pretty sure my heart isn’t right either.

I know the Lord has called me to write and I know He wants me to pursue it with more diligence than I have been. This week I want to begin guarding my time a little more. Maybe I won’t leave social media downsized when I’m working and (Guilty face again) check it first thing in the mornings.

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.
Colossians 3:23-24

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

6 comments on “Priorities

  1. It’s hard to write, isn’t it? Not that telling stories is hard, but carving out that discipline is difficult. And add to that a full-time job taking up 12-14 of my prime waking hours, and trying to cram the writing into the holes left…well.

    I’ve also found it’s harder to set aside things on weekends to make writing time. It’s the only dedicated time I get with my children, and I simply won’t negotiate on that, so the time I have on weekends to write takes a beating too.

    But it can be done, and I know it can be done. I think the thing to remember is, writing should be fun. If it’s work, or if it’s really difficult to get to, maybe we have the fun part wrong.

    Thank you for another post that touches something in my writing journey. I think you and I may be on a somewhat parallel path.

    Press on. Make it fun. You got this. 🙂

    • I totally agree, family comes first. And, yes, I need to remind myself why I love writing in the first place. It is fun, hard work, but fun. We got this. 🙂

  2. Great post. I have the same problem. I started trying to manage it by muting my computer (but…but…MUSIC!) and that didn’t really work too well. Then one day, I was inspired and decided to go write out a scene for a future story idea on my new typewriter that hubby surprised me with.

    And two hours later, I realized I hadn’t touched my computer or phone. They were closed. Away. It was just me and my typewriter. I was pretty amazed and that showed me maybe I should try writing my books a different way. Writing by hand or by typewriter. Or editing for clients on my airplane-mode iPad instead of computer.

    Anyway, food for thought. Thanks for sharing yours and I love that verse!

    • I love that idea. I’ve written by hand before and did find that it helped, a lot. I’ve never thought about trying a typewriter though. I might just look into that. 🙂 And I totally understand the music thing!

  3. Yes. Turn it off. Unplug, even. In The Before Time these things did not exist and people got along just fine without them — or at the very least without spending so much of life on them. The machines should not rule us — Christ should. You’ve nailed it once again. Do not listen to the little bells. Silence them. They’ll still be there when you’ve accomplished far more important things in any given day.

    • You’re so right! I like having music playing in the background but I can totally make sure that FB, etc… are turned off while I’m in the zone. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

