5 Comments

The Mountain

wallpaper_pictures_of_mountains_mountains-wallpaper-61

“I’m not climbing that! I can’t.”

I shielded my eyes and looked up the steep slope in front of me, there just wasn’t any way.

“This is the path I’ve given you.”

“But, Lord, this isn’t some hill we’re talking about, this is a mountain!” I took a deep breath and tried to calm myself. He would understand. This just wasn’t something I was capable of.

“I know what it is. I’m the one who made it.”

I swallowed, “You know I have health problems, Lord, if I don’t have the right things to eat, I’ll pass out on the way.”

“I will provide for your needs.”

My palms started to sweat. “I’m really scared of heights, even if I could do it physically, I don’t know if I could get over my fears. Isn’t there another path?”

“Trust Me.”

“Please, I just need a little time. I’m not ready for this.” But even as I spoke those last words I knew the conversation was over. The voice was gone. I stared up at the mountain in front of me. Snow glistened off of its topmost heights. It was a beautiful but terrifying sight. Hadn’t I been praying for direction, hadn’t I been crying out for clarity? Well, here it was, my magnificent reality and I didn’t want it.

I sighed. What would it feel like to make it to the top of such a summit, to be able to look down on the landscape from that height? I took a deep breath. It would be amazing! But the summit wasn’t what I was afraid of, it was the climb.

A heaviness fell over me.

I closed my eyes. If I told the Lord no now, where would I go from here? What path would I take?

The thought of walking the wrong path without my Lord scared me more than the mountain.

I opened my eyes and took the first step forward. Some of the heaviness lifted. This was my path and with the Lord’s help, I would walk in it.

What mountain is the Lord asking you to climb today?

I sought the LORD, and he answered me

and delivered me from all my fears. (Psalm 34:4 ESV)

About Brittany Valentine

Saved by grace, sibling one of eight, part-timer by day, speculative fiction writer by night. Working on a series called The Chronicles of Aura.

5 comments on “The Mountain

  1. […] came in this morning to find this post in my feed reader. And I knew, somehow, God spoke to me through the words of this young […]

  2. Brittany, the Lord just used you to speak to me about something I’ve been wrestling with for a few months now. It’s been a tough road, and my progress is painfully slow. This analog works perfectly in my situation too, except my response is much worse.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

