5 Comments

The City of Good and Evil

 

Photo by Gretchen E.K. Engel

Photo by Gretchen E.K. Engel

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” (Romans 12:2 ESV)

These are Paul’s words to the Romans, but are easily applicable today. Paul lived in a time and place that all but defined debauchery. And 2015 Las Vegas takes it to a new level.

The picture is one I took on The Las Vegas Strip of signs street evangelists were holding. I prayed for them and their ministry. That the message was heard by those who needed to hear it,  and those people could talk to someone about it.

My family decided on a trip there for the Labor Day weekend. We haven’t been for a while and thought it would be fun. And it was. However, it was also tough as a parent of tweens. They’re still innocent. Thankfully! But also aware of their surroundings. This meant vigilance on what their eyes and ears took in. Lots of distracting took place!

We did a good job of keeping the trip family friendly. We had fun at the Hershey’s, M&Ms, & Coca-Cola stores. We had fun eating whatever sounded good including buffets, pretzels, and sampling colas from around the world. Our son loved devouring a variety of foods. Our daughter delighted in a buffet that leaned heavily in the dessert food group.

We watched the dancing fountain at Bellagio, the Atlantis fountain, and several street performers. We took fun pictures. We even brought along our Beanie Boo “avatars”. I have my blue and green leopard, my daughter an orange tabby, my son a husky, and my husband a raccoon.

 

Photo by Gretchen E.K. Engel

Photo by Gretchen E.K. Engel

I even took one for the team and drank the bitter Beverly soda from Italy, which brought back memories from my spring break trip to Atlanta where friends paid me to drink a cup of it.

At the end of the day we had a good time. But my son summed up the trip best, “next time let’s just go to Phoenix.”

Where would you like to go on a long weekend?

About Gretchen E K Engel

Chemical engineer by day, spec fiction writer by night

5 comments on “The City of Good and Evil

  1. Gads, this brought back memories. Few of them good. We lived in Las Vegas when I was in the second grade. Rotten city to be a kid in. I hated every minute of it. In my memory, there was no place for a kid to hang out, except the school playground, which was entirely asphalt with no grass or trees. There must not have been a library within walking distance of our apartment, because if there had been, I would have spend all my time there.

    Your son is very wise. 😉

    Our favorite place for a long weekend is Saint Augustine. It’s a beautiful city with a rich history.

  2. Glad you had fun! We’d probably go to Lake Tahoe. Natural beauty and good food, places to walk around and explore, shops and art galleries to browse. I also enjoy Santa Cruz, but it’s a bit further away.

Leave a Reply

