Leave a comment

More Farland Workshops

You are all going to get sick of me posting about David Farland. For those unable to attend his Realm Makers workshop, I tweeted a bunch of his tips on Saturday. Unfortunately, I hadn’t thought of it on Friday. So next time I will compile a shortlist from my notes.

But this week, I wanted to share Farland’s workshop schedule, because one of them is coming up fast: August 29–30 in Hollywood, Calif.

Joining Farland (aka Dave Wolverton) at this Writers of the Future Workshop will be Orson Scott Card, Kevin J. Anderson, Rebecca Moesta and Brittany & Brianna Winner (The Winner Twins).

I have to point out that the price for this workshop ($389) is MORE than an early registration at Realm Makers. Consider that for next year.

workshop

Photo by Mario Alberto Magallanes Trejo • FreeImages

Farland is also doing a Houston Writing Mastery Workshop October 9–10. Note: you should sign up at least two weeks in advance of the course as there is homework to be completed prior to attending. Cost: $229.

Writer’s Mastery Camp will be held November 9–13 in in Saint George, Utah. Cost: $699. This is an intensive workshop with an emphasis on work.

Farland’s live workshops are listed here.

Farland also offers a bunch of online workshops.

I have been underwhelmed by online courses I took in the past (mainly entrepreneurship courses rather than writing courses) because normally they don’t include feedback from the instructor. Courses that provide feedback are far superior, because you feel like you’re actually learning something instead of just ingesting content. Most of Farland’s online courses include instructor feedback. That makes them very tempting to me in spite of the price. Considering my disappointing performance recently (got another short story rejection last week), I feel like I need something to boost me to the next level. Just not sure what that is yet. Maybe I need to process and apply what I learned at Realm Makers, or maybe I need more than that. We’ll see.

I don’t know how many readers we have in the Western U.S., but I figured I’d share these links in case any of you were interested.

About Kristen Stieffel

Kristen Stieffel is a writer and freelance editor specializing in speculative fiction. She's a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association, Christian Editor Connection, and American Christian Fiction Writers.

Leave a Reply

