Leave a comment

Introducing: Brittany Valentine

With Heather Titus graduating to Indie Authorland, we’ve invited a new member to the fellowship. Brittany Valentine is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, and is also a Realm Makes attendee. So if you’re at the conference with us this weekend, please say hi!

Brittany Valentine head shotAre you in a local writers group?

I’m a member of the ACFW but I live in southern Illinois and haven’t been able to connect with any local writer groups. I do enjoy the fellowship I get online with other writers. Someday I would love to start a local writing group.

 

Tell us about your book.

My book is called Destined. It’s about a young woman who discovers she has the ability to bridge worlds.

 

Do you have any short story publishing credits?

Last year I had a novella published with Helping Hands Press. It’s called Abigail’s Answer and is a part of the Fifth Wheel series by Michele Huey. I also had two devotionals published in Pathways to God and another devotional article, “Learning to Trust,” published online and in a local newspaper.

 

How long have you been writing, and how long have you been doing it with a goal of publication?

I’ve known I wanted to write for almost as long as I can remember. I set out to write my first full-length novel right out of high school. I realized pretty quickly that I needed some help along the way. It was then that I discovered Jerry Jenkins’ Christian Writers Guild and applied for one of their intermediate courses. I was rejected immediately. They advised that I start at the very beginning and work my way up. That rejection was probably one of the best things that’s happened to help me in my writing journey. It taught me to have a thick skin and not to give up. I’ll admit, I still cried a little. Four years and many words later, I graduated from their Craftsman course, the last course they offered. Since that time I’ve been working on finishing my book. It’s the first in a series called The Gatekeepers.

 

What writing conferences have you attended, and what did you get out of them?

Realm Makers will be my first official conference. I did go to a residency program in Colorado for my Craftsman course. The residency was a wonderful experience. Since there were only thirteen students, we had a lot of one-on-one time with our teachers. There was one point in the residency where our first five pages were projected onto a screen with all of the edits that had been made to them. Jerry then proceeded to go through the edits in front of the class. There was so much red on my page, it looked like it was on fire! It was definitely one of those thick-skinned experiences, but I learned so much.

 

What else do you want to tell our readers about yourself?

I’m the oldest of eight children. In addition to writing, I love hiking, horseback riding, camping, and basically anything that gets me outdoors. Also, I’m absolutely addicted to coffee. I’m drinking some right now.

About Kristen Stieffel

Kristen Stieffel is a writer and freelance editor specializing in speculative fiction. She's a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association, Christian Editor Connection, and American Christian Fiction Writers.

Leave a Reply

