Leave a comment

Forged Steel Q&A with Joshua

As part of the launch of Heather Titus’s novel Forged Steel, we’re pleased to feature an interview with the book’s protagonist, Joshua.

 

How would you describe yourself?

Average height. Scrawny. Prone to reciting pi when I’m upset, and utilizing computer pranks and hacking to get back at people who annoy me.

 

Where did you grow up, and what do you like about your hometown?

I grew up in Republic, Missouri, which is basically part of Springfield. It’s a nice place, nothing too crazy beyond the occasional drunk thinking he can ride his horse into the local Wal-Mart. Your typical Midwestern town, in other words.

 

Forged Steel coverWhat’s on your iPod?

Anberlin, Coldplay, U2. The BBC radio dramatization of The Lord of the Rings.

 

What was the last book you read?

The Divergent series.

 

What’s your favorite movie?

Inception. Partially because it’s fun to watch people freak out at the ending.

 

Who’s your favorite fictional character?

Gimli. Tough little dude. And after everything that happened with the fae…well. Let’s just say I sympathize with him in his dislike of elves.

 

Who’s your favorite historical figure?

Alan Turing.

 

What was your first job?

Pizza place as a teen. It wasn’t an awful job, even though smelling like pizza all the time certainly didn’t help my already-small prospects in getting a date.

 

Where is your favorite place to “get away from it all?”

I don’t need a specific place, just give me my headphones and my laptop.

 

Who is your best friend at school, and what is it about them you admire?

My best friend was Marc Gillam. He never backed down from anything, and he always stuck up for people who were wronged. Kind of had this hero sort of complex. Awesome guy.

 

What’s your major?

Currently? Physics. It was Psychology, then Engineering, then General Science, then General Mathematics. Basically I have no clue what I want to do.

 

What made you want to study that?

It seemed like an obvious choice, I guess.

 

We hear you’re a math genius. When and how did you discover this skill?

I don’t really remember when I discovered that I was good at numbers–I just always have been. I remember realizing in third grade that not every kid understood math like I did, though.

 

What’s your favorite thing about higher mathematics?

Numbers have always made sense. There’s a pattern and an order to them that I’ve always been able to figure out.

 

What was the worst day of your life?

Do you mean before or after I met the fae? Before, it would probably be a couple of times I got caught sneaking out after curfew at my super-strict college.

 

What was the best decision you ever made?

Believe it or not, helping the fae. Not only did it keep me alive at the time, but it was nice to actually use my skills in a legit way rather than just hacking into the school system to erase the grades of someone who made me mad.

 

What can you tell us about the fae?

Just be warned, if you ever have any dealings with them–they’re kind of crazy. You have to learn to think quick on your feet. Learning how to defend yourself wouldn’t be a bad idea either. And just be prepared–a lot of fae kind of dismiss humans. Kinda funny, since they can hardly do basic math and most technology goes right over their heads.

If you don’t want to ever tangle with a fae, carry a piece of iron in your pocket and hope that you never become desensitized to glamour.

 

What are your plans for the future?

Survive the Underworld. Help Eliaster. Fight monsters. Maybe even complete college someday, if I can ever figure out what degree I want. It’s a pretty good plan, as far as I can see.

 

Forged Steel on Kindle

Forged Steel in paperback (Amazon link)

About Kristen Stieffel

Kristen Stieffel is a writer and freelance editor specializing in speculative fiction. She's a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association, Christian Editor Connection, and American Christian Fiction Writers.

Leave a Reply

