10 Comments

Introducing: Gretchen E K Engel

Gretchen Engel 2With Ralene departing for greener (but perhaps not geekier) pastures, we had an opening here at New Authors Fellowship. I had hoped that our new member, Gretchen E K Engel, would fill my shoes when I graduated, but since that’s not happening yet, I’m glad to bring her aboard now.

I first met Gretchen through the American Christian Fiction Writers critique program, where we were placed in a critique group with Will Ramirez and a few others. Gretchen is a great critique partner as well as a great writer. I can’t wait until you all have the chance to read her YA fantasy novel, a speculative fiction story set in the quasi-dystopian world of high school. I suppose she can’t wait, either.

Her published short stories include “Neatly Arranged,” an individual title and part of the No Revolution is Too Big series by Helping Hands Press, and “Detention,” which is in the Out of the Storm anthology by Hope Springs Press. She also is one of the bloggers at The Scriblerians.

In high school, Gretchen competed to write her English teacher’s favorite essays and earn highest marks in physics. Science won over the arts, and Gretchen became a chemical engineer. She says, “My heroines and heroes are people of faith and people of science.” An environmental consultant by day and speculative fiction writer by night, she has authored hundreds of technical documents and finished her first novel.

You can find out more about Gretchen at her website, gretchenekengel.com.

About Kristen Stieffel

Kristen Stieffel is a writer and freelance editor specializing in speculative fiction. She's a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association, Christian Editor Connection, and American Christian Fiction Writers.

10 comments on “Introducing: Gretchen E K Engel

  1. Welcome, Gretchen! I’m so glad that you’re filling my shoes. I pray that NAF benefits greatly from your personal experiences in writing and life. 🙂

  2. Way cool! Congrats, Gretchen! (Making me feel kinda nostalgic for my NAF days, lol.)

  3. Welcome, Gretchen! Always enjoy your thoughts. Looking forward to seeing what you bring to the blog here. 🙂

  4. Gretchen, I look forward to reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

