1 Comment

Interview with Morgan Busse

New HoH Cover

I am so very excited for my good friend and critique partner, Morgan Busse. Last Tuesday was the release of her 3rd book (and also the final book of the her trilogy). I thought you all might want to get to know a little bit more about her and her books (which I highly recommend).

Without further ado . . .

So, how does it feel to have finished your first trilogy?

Good, really good. One of those lifetime accomplishments. I started writing Daughter of Light, the first book in the Follower of the Word series, almost eleven years ago. Four hundred thousand words later (yes, you read that right), here I am. There were times I wasn’t sure I would ever finish this story. It’s a complicated plot with five POV characters, multiple themes, and vast settings. I guess that’s why it’s called it an epic fantasy!

 

What was the hardest part about writing the final book in your trilogy?

I think each author is good at one point of the story: some are good at beginnings, some with middles, and others with endings. I am good with endings. So writing the final book wasn’t that hard. In fact, it was kind of a relief to bring the entire story to its final pinnacle and wrap up all the threads. The crescendo at the end of a long, beautiful tale. And now I get to share that story with the world.

 

Do you have a favorite character from the series? Why did you choose that character?

Well, you know what most authors say about that: how can you choose just one of your children? I like each of my characters for a reason, even the villains. But if I had to choose one, and only one, I would choose Rowen, the main protagonist. Everything she has been through has brought her to the edge, but she never fell off. Part of that is because she is strong on the inside. Part of that is because she has people who believe in her. And part of that is because the Word never let go of her, even when she wanted to fall. I resonate with that.

 

Do you relate to any of the characters? See a little more of yourself in any one in particular?

All of my characters carry a piece of me inside them. I think that’s what happens when you write your heart and soul into your story. Rowen encompasses my faith and fears, Lore my belief in right and wrong, Caleb my passion, and Nierne my questions about God.

 

How do you balance being a pastor’s wife, a mom of 4, and a writer?

I chose a long time ago that my writing would never take me away from my family. Because of that choice, it takes me longer to write books, but I am also more disciplined with my time. When my kids were little, I would write during their naps or at night. Now I write and do any writing-related business while they are at school. I write everyday, four days a week. Weekends are for my family and church.

Writing is like eating an elephant. It looks impossibly big at first, but when you consistently take a bite each day (or write each day), after a couple months, you have a finished story. Then you do it again, and again, and again.

 

If you could set up a writing retreat anywhere in the world, where would you set up shop? 

Oregon Coast. A small cottage, right there on the beach, with the forest and mountains behind me. I love the rain, so the weather would be perfect for writing. And when I need a break, I can either walk on the beach or go for a hike. Sigh. Writing heaven!

 

What are you working on now?

I am a couple chapters away from finishing the first book in my new steampunk fantasy series. Right now the series is named The Soul Chronicles and the first book is titled Tainted.

Tainted is about a young woman who has the power to manipulate the laws of science, but every time she uses this power, it consumes a part of her soul. If she doesn’t find a cure soon, her soul will die and she will become something else entirely. Tainted explores the boundary between science and magic and what happens when those lines are crossed.

I am really excited about this series and it’s fun to be working in a new genre. The Soul Chronicles are under consideration at a publishing house, so I don’t have any news or release dates at this point. However, I do know they are excited about this series, and so I am optimistic.

 

Thanks for inviting me!

 

WhonPhoto_MBusse_003 MFinalDarkerBio:

Morgan L. Busse writes fantasy for the adult market. She is the author of the Follower of the Word series, including Daughter of Light,Christy and Carol Award finalist. Morgan lives on the west coast with her husband and four children. You can find out more about Morgan at www.morganlbusse.com

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

One comment on “Interview with Morgan Busse

  1. Great interview! That ending was beautiful! Totally an epic series!

Leave a Reply

