Leave a comment

Thinking About Easter

Easter tomb

Spring is my favorite season.

I hate being cold. I would much rather be too hot than too cold. Oh, I know, I’ve heard all the arguments about how you can always put on more layers but you can only take so much, and I’ve heard the explanations of how pretty the snow is, and how ugly the dry desert is, and so on, but I disagree. When I’m cold, I’m miserable. I just don’t like it.

Granted, in Phoenix it never really gets cold. We get a little chilly sometimes.

But I still love spring.

I love when the sun is shining and it’s hot enough to go lie on a blanket in the back yard. I love blooming flowers and taking my kids to the park before it gets so hot that you’ll melt.

Some people (usually not people who live in Phoenix) love summer, with the long, lazy days. Some people love autumn, with the changing leaves and crisp air and pumpkin everything, and some love winter, with the biting cold and snowmen and holidays.

But not me. Although I don’t mind the summer heat, I don’t love being out in it; I think autumn leaves and pumpkins are nice, but I don’t love them enough to be excited that they signal winter; I absolutely hate being cold. I hate bundling up every time I go outside, and I hate trudging through snow so my feet get cold and wet, and I hate not seeing the sun for days on end. (I love Phoenix winters–most of those things don’t apply.)

But I really love spring.

On top of the aforementioned wonderful things about spring, that’s also when my birthday comes around, so it’s a generally happy time.

And it makes such a great metaphor.

This is Holy Week. The week we celebrate when Jesus entered Jerusalem on a donkey, effectively proclaiming His identity as the Messiah, only to be betrayed and crucified, and ultimately rise from the dead.

In the seasons of Jesus’ life, there was the hot, blazing summer of His ministry and Triumphal Entry, the autumn of His betrayal and trial, the cold, harsh winter of His death and three days in the tomb…

But what better season to represent His resurrection than spring?

Spring represents new life, new growth, new beginnings. It is the season of rebirth, and so both metaphorically and literally, it is the perfect season for Easter.

As you celebrate over the next few days, think of the seasons, and the spring of Christ’s resurrection from death that gives you new life.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

Leave a Reply

