1 Comment

Alphabet Blogging: T is for…

As an author, I’ve never forgotten how to daydream ~ Neil Gaiman

Thinking–or, as some would call it, daydreaming.1097814_69890719

Do you ever just sit and stare out the window on a rainy day, or watch the side of the road as you ride in a car? For a while, I’d gotten out of the habit, because my phone was always in reach, and I could always listen to music or books or a podcast to fill in the times of quiet.

Lately, though, I’ve come to treasure the times I do have that are quiet–on a car ride when Toby’s asleep, or when the guys have gone to Lowe’s to get stuff for a home project. Especially if I’m stuck on a story, I’ll let my mind meander off into a strange combination of thinking and daydreaming. I can’t really call it either one, because my thoughts don’t jump from one unrelated thing to the other (like in daydreaming), but I don’t stay in a strict thought progression either (though to be far, my mind rarely does this anyway, even if I am trying to think hard on a certain subject.)

I’ve finding these times of quiet daydreaming/thinking are essential to keeping up my creativity. It’s a sort of refueling for my brain, and if I can do a mindless task that gets me moving while I’m doing it (like walking or riding my bike), it’s a win-win. In fact, this is one of the reasons I love riding my bike around the bike paths near Marquette. It’s not so intense that I have to pay attention to every move I make (like rock-climbing or mountain-biking), but I always come back from a ride inspired to write.

What about you? Do you take time to just think and daydream?

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

One comment on “Alphabet Blogging: T is for…

  1. Yes! I especially like thinking time while on walks or long drives. Seems like I always have great ideas during those times. And in the shower. And when grocery shopping alone. Anytime I’m alone, really. 😉

Leave a Reply

