1 Comment

Tribute to Spock

Leonard2I’m sure all of us are aware now that Leonard Nemroy, aka Spock from Star Trek, passed away last Friday at the ripe old age of 83. As my tribute to him, I did a little (more) research and came up with some interesting facts and anecdotes to share with you all.

First, let me say—or rather admit—I fell on the Star Wars half of the Star Wars/Star Trek feud. However, I’m not a Star Trek hater. I did watch some of it growing up, though I much preferred Star Trek: The Next Generation or even Star Trek: Enterprise. (Please, no stone throwing.) However, of the original Star Trek episodes I’ve seen (and I have seen a lot), Spock is very likely one of the few reasons I didn’t completely write the series off.

So, without further ado . . . Did you know?

 

Leonard Nemroy and William Shatner were born only 4 days apart. They were both born in March of 1931. Does this mean Mr. Shatner should beware this week?

Originally, “they” wanted Mr. Spock’s skin to be dark red. Yeah. How weird is that to envision? But, with black and white TVs, his skin would look black—not good.Leonard

Also, the first interracial kiss on screen was supposed to be between Spock and Uhura, but a certain Captain Kirk insisted that the FIRST interracial kiss was going to include him. Tsk tsk.

Leonard Nimoy did not want to play Spock in St Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, but was persuaded when promised “the greatest death scene in motion pictures.”

Nimoy released 7 books of poetry in addition to his books I Am Spock and I Am Not Spock.

He had his own Etsy shop where he sold mostly t-shirts.

Just like Spock, Nimoy was a vegetarian.

After Star Trek was cancelled, he opened a pet store dealing in exotic animals.

 

I hope you learned a little something today. Maybe something that warmed your heart or tickled your brain. Now it is with fond memories we bid farewell to a national icon.

Live long and prosper.

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

One comment on “Tribute to Spock

  1. Thanks for this, Ralene. When I was a kid, my dad loved Star Trek. I thought it was too scary and opted for Lost in Space instead. But when I was in high school, I fell in love with the series on reruns!

Leave a Reply

