5 Comments

Big Dreams in 2015

cohdra_100_8690So, since I’ve been away for awhile, I thought you all might like an update as to where I am with writing and such. If not, well, I’m going to update you anyway. Maybe I’ll wrangle a smile out of you before the end.

In 2014, I managed to completely finish a novel–edits and all–but that was about the extent of my personal writing. I did keep the blog on my website going for about 9 months before I petered out from trying to post 5 days a week. And my editing business saw some feast and some famine, but it continued to grow nonetheless. And I made enough money to pay for ACFW, Realm Makers, and a couple of classes, which was the goal. Woohoo! So, all in all, a decent year.

But, as some of you know, I’ve struggled with some health conditions the past couple of years. My husband has struggled with even more. We had to face some hard realities in 2014 and begin to make some serious changes. The adjustments and such kept me from reaching my full potential in 2014.

And now, it’s 2015.

Time to pick up the baton and continue the race.

For 2015, I have a lot of big dreams. I don’t know if they will all work out, but they’re worth trying for!

1. I want to be published or contracted to be published this year. I’ve been pursuing this dream as more than a hobby for about 4 years now (and as a hobby for about 4 years). I have my completed novels out with a couple of people, but I also have been considering the self-publishing road as many of my fellow spec fic friends have found success on that road. My issues is that I am one that needs “approval,” so getting that stamp from someone like an agent or an editor keeps holding me back from pursuing self-publishing. I mean, am I really good enough?

2. I want to post on my blog 3 times a week in an effort to help writers grow in their knowledge of writing, editing, and social media while encouraging them at the same time. I already have a schedule set up that I think I can stick with–Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Woohoo!

3. I want to continue growing my editing business. I’ve been encouraged and humbled by the feedback I’ve gotten from clients, and excites me that I’ve been able to help. This year, I’d like to have enough business to help pay off some bills that have stacked up over the last couple of years.

4. I will make time for my own writing. I have several stories percolating in my head, including the sequels to the two finished novels I have. So, I will dedicate AT LEAST one of my scheduled work times during the week for my own novels and short stories.

Those are my big goals for writing this year. I know they’re about a month late–but, hey, better late than never, right? It’s good to have a vision and it’s good to have a map. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for 2015. He’s always surprising me.

What are some of your writing goals for 2015?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

5 comments on “Big Dreams in 2015

  1. Great to hear you’re slugging it out, still! Good luck with your publishing path, no matter which one you choose!

    I’ve got three books scheduled for this year, but I think I could do more. We’ll see.

  2. My main goal is to finish Book Two in my fantasy series. I’m also working on novellas set in Travis Perry’s Medieval Mars storyworld. And then there’s Book Three…oy.

    My dream is to have Book One out in time for Realm Makers. Of course, that’s been my dream for two years now, so we’ll see how that goes…

  3. Hoping to put out a short story (or it may end up a novella, we’ll see), and the first season of my urban fantasy episodic serial. And hoping to complete the content and launch a non-fiction site I’ve been planning for a while.

    Good to see you plunging back into the fray!

Leave a Reply

