Leave a comment

Happy New Year!

fireworksWelcome to 2015!

This year has been a good one for me, overall. A lot of amazing things have happened.

I’ve been the editor of Havok Magazine for a whole year now. I have learned so much about editing and about magazine production and all sorts of things. I really, really love it. It’s the best job in the world.

I also had the opportunity to co-emcee with my friend and boss, Ben Wolf, and also teach a workshop at the 2014 Realm Makers conference. And, as a major bonus, I’ve been invited back to co-emcee again at the 2015 conference. Teaching was a new experience for me. I’ve spoken for church functions before, but this was my first opportunity to teach a class. I’ll admit, I was a bit nervous. Also, I had way too much coffee and not enough sleep, so I was a little frazzled, but I enjoyed it, and I got good feedback on my topic, so overall I think it was a good experience for both me and the attendees.

Also this year I gave birth to my fifth child, a beautiful little girl. She is a delight, and I’m happy she’s part of our family.

There were some things I had hoped to accomplish this year that I didn’t. Namely, as has been the case for the last several years, I was really hoping to have a book published. I’ve had ups and downs and successes and failures for the last several years regarding my book, and this time last year, I really thought this was my year. I really felt like this was the year all my hard work would finally come to fruition. That was not the case. I’ve made good progress. I have good contacts and I’ve done a lot of work and I’m that much closer, but I’m not there yet.

I also wanted to attend at least one conference besides Realm Makers, but I wasn’t able to make that happen, either.

Those two goals are on my list for 2015. As I look forward to this new year, I am in a good place. I have goals. I have plans to meet those goals. If I don’t meet all of them, it’s okay. My time will come, and each step gets me that much closer. I will continue to work hard, and I will get there eventually.

But this year is my year.

Welcome, 2015.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

Leave a Reply

