15 Comments

The Gnomes

So, I totally forgot to blog last week. Like, genuinely, legitimately forgot. I know, I know, I’ve been blogging every Thursday for eons, it should be a well-ingrained habit by now. But here’s the thing: I forgot it was Thursday. Seriously. I had no idea what day it was, so by the end of the day when I realized it was Thursday and I’d spaced on blogging, it was kinda too late.

I’m blaming it on the gnomes.

Speaking of the gnomes. They killed the Cleaning Fairy. See what shenanigans they’re up to now!

The Rise of the Gnomes, Part Two: The Gnomes

dishesBeady eyes peeked out from behind a corner. Mother jumped. Those eyes never failed to send shivers down her spine, no matter how many times she saw them. The gnome grinned, it’s sharp, pointed teeth bared. It cackled as it grabbed the salt shaker from the countertop and carried it upside-down across the room, shaking salt across the counters and floors as it ran back and forth.

Mostly, Mother tried to ignore them. Without the Cleaning Fairy to keep them in line, what could she do?

Another gnome, the one with the red hat and black hair, climbed up into the cupboard and sat on Mother’s fine china. Mother closed her eyes and breathed deeply. Do not let them see how much you care. The more they think it bothers you, the more likely they are to continue doing it.

Mother gulped and turned away, forcing herself not to panic at the gnome sitting atop her plates. A third gnome was now skating through the salt the first gnome had scattered everywhere. Mother reached for the broom.

CRASH!

Mother gasped and turned around. The gnome with the red hat grinned at her, held a plate above its head, and dropped the plate to the floor.

Mother screamed. Her beautiful, irreplaceable dishes.

No more. She would not allow the little beasts to destroy everything beautiful in her home. Cleaning Fairy or no, it was time to fight back.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

15 comments on “The Gnomes

  1. This means war! Watch out when Mother gets riled!

  2. Ma’am, you might want to call on these guys:

    • Mother is a Lady. She will be much more subtle in her Gnome capturing.

    • Remember that video. I suspect that we have more Jung foo chickens everywhere from a the nuclear and chemical waste that we only need to metaphorically look next door . How this has to do with crickets and gnomes is a mystery to me.
      I dud enjoy the short story Avily. I remember the “Cleaning Fairy,” one. I really don’t know without you sharing with me. But it made me wonder from the photo in the “Cleaning Fairy,” if you were basing the story at all in a personal gaff in your own life. My mind always ponders possibilities. I know you have children , hence your life must be insane at times. I can only imagine the mess with so many to pick up after. I thought it possible one as I am doing basing a story out of a real life situation. It’s cute either way. Gnomes are testy sometimes malicious little creatures. I see that.
      Are there ever any fairies or fairy dust to neutralize the malicious behaviors of the others?
      It was so believable I could see and hear them as tegu made their schizophrenic ransack through the house. Very cute. And BTW? I have been finding out more often that as you, I’m forgetting what day or week I’m in. Going to things on days that weren’t the days I thought. Ugh… Need a sunny peaceful island where I can enjoy the company of little fairies.
      Yisraela

      • It’s not specifically based on real life, and it’s not a metaphor. Just me enjoying writing a silly story, and using the types of situations that really happen as a way to describe the setting.

  3. […] killed the Cleaning Fairy, and then The Gnomes rained down destruction. What will they do […]

  4. […] they murdered the Cleaning Fairy. Then, The Gnomes started running wild. So Mother came up with The […]

  5. […] first we met Mother, the Cleaning Fairy had been murdered. The Gnomes had risen to power. Mother devised the Plan to take care of them, and the Gnomes commenced the […]

  6. […] they murdered The Cleaning Fairy, The Gnomes started running amok. Mother instituted The Plan to take care of them. So the gnomes began The […]

Leave a Reply

