1 Comment

Alphabet Blogging: L is for…

Well…I’m sorry, guys. I thought for sure I had a post written and scheduled for last Wednesday. I must have been half asleep or something. Maybe I dreamed it–I tend to do that a lot, dream that I did something only to find out that in real life, I didn’t.

Huh. OK, on to the post!

Long-term.1097824_78205302

I think I’ve blogged about this before, but it bears re-discussing.

As much as we authors work on our craft and hone the art of piecing words together into a coherent story, there seems to be one thing we forget–writing is also a business. At least, it is if you want to be doing it 10+ years from now and actually making some money from it.

Early this year, after reading some books on the business/self-publishing side of writing, I was inspired to make a 5-year and 10-year plan. How did that hold up?

Not well. I didn’t anticipate how busy we’d be this summer, nor did I guess we’d be traveling down to Missouri twice in 5 weeks for important sibling weddings. I think, between everything we’ve had going on this year, I haven’t had an entire month at home since May…and won’t until February at least.

But even though it didn’t work out to get everything done that I wanted to get done this year, I’m still encouraged. I can re-do my plans and re-evaluate my goals. That’s what this time of year is for anyway, right? And now that I’m getting used to thinking long-term, and have spent an entire year seeing what did and didn’t work, I think I might be better prepared to make plans that can (sort of) stick this next year.

If nothing else, writing down plans and goals helps me keep track of what I have to do, and what’s going on. I have something to work toward. The pitfall of thinking long-term is that, sometimes, I start wishing I was there now–there being that nebulous, grass-is-greener land of multiple books published, maybe a movie deal, maybe a best-seller, who knows? (Hey–I never said my 10-year plan was totally realistic.) 😉

I also have to remember that the plans are not set in stone–I can adjust them as needed, changing as new life circumstances or personal goals change.

But keeping lists and plans also helps me stay grounded in what needs to happen now. I can see myself working toward my goals, rather than just feeling like I’m running in a hamster wheel. I can tick something off a list and know that I just did as much as I could to work toward my goals.

How about you? Do you think long-term, or keep goals to hit in your writing?

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

One comment on “Alphabet Blogging: L is for…

  1. Since I am a novice except for having a blog now for few years, I’m trying to explore avenues that will help me be the most organized in not just writing but staying on some course . Imagination is something I must work at unless of course I have a few glasses of wine. LOL seriously I am pushing myself to write even my blogs more often to develop a habit if writing and expanding my creative universe. So in doing that, I am also seeking all the ideas for that process by way of all of you. I get the dreaming, thinking it was reality. I keep lists too if things I must set as goals. Thanks for your insights.
    Good luck with your writing
    Yisraela

Leave a Reply

