4 Comments

Falling off the blog wagon

I haven’t blogged since October 23, which is just nuts.

Yeah, you’ve seen me here since then. I’m talking about over at my own site. I had a real roll going on with a series of blog posts about editing (whoo-hoo!). But seriously, when I attended the Florida Writers Association last month, I was surprised by the number of writers who came to me and told me they really enjoyed my blog. It was, like, three or four people.

Really. But since I was expecting, y’know, zero, that seemed like a lot.

Illustration © T. L. Furrer • Fotolia

Illustration © T. L. Furrer • Fotolia

But I let life and work and writing get in the way, and blew my perfect streak. OK, it was never perfect, but it was pretty darn good. Good enough that an editor colleague once joked that she didn’t share my posts because she didn’t want her followers going to my site instead of hers.

Then a member of my local mastermind group, a webmaster who builds sites for businesspeople, asked if I could teach her clients how to blog.

Oh, yeah, I said. How to Blog and Why. I can totally teach that.

Now I just need to get back on the wagon and follow my own advice.

Why do we blog?

To demonstrate our expertise in a topic. To establish our professional personality. In corporateworld they call that brand, but when you are the brand, it’s just you. Your personality. Your writing should be you.

How do we blog?

There’s a whole other post in that, but the short answer is, for businesspeople and nonfiction writers, to write compelling, shareable content that demonstrates your knowledge and inspires trust.

Easier said than done, and don’t I know it.

For novelists, blogging needs to be different. The knowledge you share can be about people (character) or places (setting) or other details that go into your work. If you write science fiction, you can blog about the space probe landing on a comet. If you write fantasy, you can blog about medieval armor*. The point is to attract a readership that’s interested in the kind of things you write about, so when they see the ad in the sidebar for your book, they’ll be inclined to buy it.

Writers are ordinarily told not to blog about writing. So why do I blog about writing and editing over on my site? Because I’m an editor. I’m demonstrating knowledge, building brand, and, I hope, inspiring trust.

Assuming I didn’t just blow my trust boat out of the water by going AWOL for three weeks. We’ll see.

What’s the hardest part about blogging for you?

*—In the interest of showing how fantasy writers and illustrators get female armor wrong, there are some Not Safe for Work pictures on the linked site.

About Kristen Stieffel

Kristen Stieffel is a writer and freelance editor specializing in speculative fiction. She's a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association, Christian Editor Connection, and American Christian Fiction Writers.

4 comments on “Falling off the blog wagon

  1. For me, writing pays the bills, but blogging doesn’t… yet. I don’t really have a personal “brand” to establish in that sense. If I did, other things in my Real Life would have to be set aside and these have their own importance.

  2. Love the title. That drew me in. So you haven’t lost any touch. Just being normal? I think so. It is hard when we can’t control everything we’d like, this happens. So what up with that and why should it be a big deal? I guess because we become disciplined and as good as that is, it become a trap of our own making. Discipline is good. But breathing is better. And we need to do that. So for this point in time you disappointed yourself. It’s ok in the end. Cause maybe just maybe ,God knew it was needed. If blogging was your only task then perhaps we need to chat… 🙂 but it is ok. There was a good reason for yet delay. Move on and not beat yourself up. It gave others time to share their thoughts. And that is a good thing.
    I enjoy your insights and appreciate your honesty.
    Yisraela

    • Thanks Yisraela; if there is one thing I am not, it is a slave to discipline. 😉 Maybe that’s why I was disappointed in myself. The one time I got disciplined about something I slid back again. You are right that it’s not worth berating myself for. Onward…

  3. Never fret my dear, you do have more people reading (and enjoying) your blog. We just don’t show up and say so on a regular basis.
    Be of good courage!
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

