3 Comments

Alphabet Blogging: H is for…

Help.

We all need it, but sometimes it hurts to admit it. h

I recently went through a period where I was trying to do everything without help. I thought I could be the perfect wife, mom, housekeeper, AND writer and do it all by myself. Of course this led to way too much frustration and feelings of being so overwhelmed that all I wanted to do was stay under the covers in bed and pretend like the rest of the world didn’t exist.

After a couple of months of this, my husband and I had a heart to heart that relieved a lot of the pressure I was feeling. We made changes–and the first was that I let go of thinking I could do it all by myself. My husband has always been good about helping around the house, but he’s started doing more stuff, like cooking dinner a couple of times a week so I can use that time to write.

There’s more we’ve done, but just that one simple thing–letting him cook dinner occasionally, something that he has always enjoyed anyway–has been a huge help.

He also declared himself my ‘business manager’, which–apparently–means prodding me to go write, reviewing contracts, helping me keep tabs on new publishing and marketing ideas, and occasionally texting me things like, “you just liked my status on Facebook…I’m flattered, but why aren’t you writing? Go write already!” 😉

The point is, we all need help. We need help with housework, or accountability, or ________ (fill in the blank with your particular struggle). Don’t be like me and not ask until it overwhelms you. 🙂

~*~

Also, I was told a couple of weeks ago by Kristen to post links to the new anthologies with my stories in them. I was on vacation when that post published, so I didn’t have to chance to, but now I’m home and (hopefully) back in my daily groove. So here, if you’re interested, are the links to the Kindle versions of the books. Different Dragons is also available in print.

Alternate history anthology The Tanist’s Wife and Other Stories

Fantasy anthology Different Dragons II

Hope you enjoy! 🙂

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

3 comments on “Alphabet Blogging: H is for…

  1. So true and so hard to do. Thanks for sharing!

  2. So fantastic, Heather, about your husband’s support. I know that when my hubby and I got on the same page about my writing, things took off! Whether it’s help within the family or help in other ways, this is a great “H” word to talk about. While writing is often a solo activity, none of us exist in a vacuum.

  3. I am never ceased to be amazed how often we are on the same air stream with another. When I was married I often felt this way. However, you have a caring cooperative husband who may be a dying breed. Despite now being divorced, yes he was not who I thought he was. I now only have myself to care for and realize how much easier it is. But in the day I would have done many things to have someone as caring and considerate. So as odd as it might feel? Relish in the opportunity to be the other lady in those times . I still can’t imagine how you have the energy despite the help of your husband . But happy and profitable writing!
    Best wishes – Yisraela

Leave a Reply

