6 Comments

Cricket Warfare 101: Treaties and Allies

(As overheard and transcribed by Avily Jerome)

mosquito

Greetings! It has been awhile since we’ve had one of our chats. Of course you recall our conversations on Subtlety and on Sabotage, and I know you haven’t forgotten our discussions about Misdirection and Psychological Warfare. I’m pleased to hear reports of your progress in these areas.

It has come to my attention, though,that you’ve gotten into a bit of, shall we say, a turf war with a swarm of mosquitoes.

First of all, I’m very pleased with your initiative. You’re shaping up into a fine young warrior. And, as a rule, we encourage battling other insects for dominance. Our feud with the cockroaches has been going on for centuries. The one exception we make, though, is with mosquitoes.

You see, unlike cockroaches or even spiders, mosquitoes have no desire for power. They don’t wish to rule or become greater, they don’t wish to coordinate or use teamwork to achieve goals because they have no goals. Like vampires in the human world. they are soulless bloodsuckers intent only on devouring everything in sight.

In this way, they are actually useful to us. As they have no thought for achievement, we don’t have to worry about them trying to take over our territory, so we allow them to roam free through our houses. The humans despise them. They’re quick and efficient, attacking and retreating, leaving much damage in their wake. They’re particularly destructive when it comes to human children. They love the taste of young blood, and children are less apt to notice their attacks until it’s too late.

I know you’re wondering how this helps our cause. You see, when the humans are so focused on warding off mosquito attacks, they have less time to pay attention to us. We can roam more freely and expand our reach more fully while the humans are distracted by mosquitoes.

So, what I’m saying is, don’t fight with the mosquitoes. We have an understanding with them. Let them do their thing, and you focus on the important work of terrorizing humans.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

6 comments on “Cricket Warfare 101: Treaties and Allies

  1. Crickets, cockroaches, spiders, mosquitoes, flies, wasps… kill ’em all, I say. If they’re in my house and if they don’t run like the proverbial banshee with its tail on fire, they’re gone. 😀 LOL (Unless I can live-capture them and toss them outside… otherwise they just make too much of a mess sometimes.)

    Honeybees are the one exception. If one somehow gets in, I do everything in my power to let the little lass return to her appointed rounds outdoors. So far, I’ve succeeded.

  2. Oh, and jumping spiders. I let them live too. They’re cute.

    • Gah! What a horrible thing to say! There is NOTHING cute about a jumping spider!!!

      Basically, if they stay outside, they can live, but anything that has more than four legs and comes into my house dies a horrible death. Except beetles. I like beetles. They can usually live. The one time I made an exception about a beetle was when it woke me up by crawling on my lip in the middle of the night. I’m sorry, but anything that crawls on my face in the dark is dead, no matter how harmless it might be.

    • Yes jumping spiders Miss Simbers tried to catch them or she is just entertaining herself with them. I don’t want to see her torture them. She I try to intervene. Don’t want her abusing them. You are welcome to borrow her for your apt. She’d love to spend a day with papa. Yisraela

  3. […] feel about crickets (Cricket Warfare 101: Subtlety, Sabotage, Misdirection, Psychological Warfare, Treaties and Allies) can well imagine how I feel about roaches. We don’t get them often, but we do live in a big […]

Leave a Reply

