2 Comments

Alphabet Blogging: D is for…

Day-to-day life.d

I was going to write this post about Dragons. Because I like dragons. 🙂 But since life…and *ahem* a bit of a new fandom obsession…has interrupted my writing the last couple of weeks, then I thought it might be more appropriate to write a post about that.

I’m sure we’ve all read articles about how the best way to write is to get your rear in the desk chair and write every day. For some folks–the anomalies–this doesn’t work. They’re binge writers. But it seems, at least in my experience, that most of us do the best with trying to write even a little bit every single day.

That’s the dream. The reality is that even for the most dedicated of us, life intrudes. I’m not talking about the scheduled breaks, the vacations. I’m talking about the unscheduled breaks.

For example, here’s what my life has looked over the past couple of weeks of an unscheduled break.

I discovered a new TV show that derailed my thoughts for a few days. I was okay with that, though, because it inspired me in my own writing. Then my husband had to go out of town for four days, and that threw me off even more. Last week, I was set to get back on track…and our dog disappeared. When we finally found her three days later, her leg was broken in three places, requiring surgery and a two-day stay at the vet’s. The day we got her home–Sunday–we were getting ready for church when I realized Toby was feeling warm. Sure enough, he had a fever that kept him up tossing and turning all night, resulting in about 5 hours of sporadic sleep for me.

Some of those things didn’t have to be a break. I allowed them to be. Some of those would have required me to take a break whether I wanted to or not.

With vacations, writing hiatuses, etc, you usually know the start and end date and can plan accordingly. With unplanned stuff…it can be harder to get back into the rhythm of writing every day. Sometimes you just have to sit down and get it down–with, of course, the promise of a reward, if you have to. 😉 That’s what I’m doing right now–I’m sitting down and making myself get this blog post, the one that I’ve had in mind for two weeks now, written. Hopefully afterward, life will let me get to the next items on the piling-up to-do list.

 

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

2 comments on “Alphabet Blogging: D is for…

  1. I’m just surprised you didn’t write “D is for Disaster after Disaster”. 🙂

  2. LOL–yeah, what John said! (((HUGS))), Heather, and I hope this week goes more calmly for all of you. I’m so sorry to hear about your dog. I do hope she’s feeling better now that she’s back home with you, even with the broken leg.

Leave a Reply

