9 Comments

The Sprinkler of Doom

Water peppered the windshield blocking sight of the road.

“Stupid sprinklers.” Alexander growled and tapped the wipers.

The Corolla lurched forward rattling his teeth as it bounced through a sea of green grass.

“What in the world….” Alexander slammed on the brakes. When the car rumbled to a stop, he leaned over the steering wheel and slowly removed his glasses.

Gone was the pavement of Lake Mary Boulevard. In fact, not an ounce of asphalt could be seen in the bright green field that stretched for what seemed like miles in every direction.

His stomach churned as he twisted behind him for any sign of the world he knew. “Holy sprinkler of doom….where am I?”

Water Windshield

Silly, I know. And not great writing. But it’s what popped into my head when this massive wall of water blocked my vision on the way home from work today. What if sprinkler water had the ability to cause time travel if it hit the windshield in just the right way?

Maybe everyone thinks like this. But from my observation, writers see the world differently than everyone else.

Everything is a story. Especially for us speculative folks.

Most of my ideas have started this simply. Something odd happens, and it’s coupled with an out-there thought.

So, tell me. Am I alone in this? Any writers want to lend a brother some support?

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

9 comments on “The Sprinkler of Doom

  1. Have you heard of this joke, “half my mind is gone and the other half is out looking for it”? Well, now I know where to look for the first half of mine. It’s in your skull. 😀

  2. Great idea, Will! I’ve never thought of it that way–but the truck splat of doom, certainly.

  3. I am just starting a journey of writing a story with John. He is guiding me DVD we are collaborating. I read this post and am elated at snyone bring able to write such things from the least amount of stimulation. I hope one day to be as seasoned.
    Yisraela

  4. Many, many, many of my ideas come from random things I’m thinking about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

