3 Comments

Organization is like a Drug

Smiley_BallsWhen I was growing up, my room was almost always a mess. Seriously. I hated cleaning–and I was definitely one of those that felt that if my room was clean, I couldn’t find anything when I needed it. Of course, it would only take me 2 seconds to find something in my own chaos.

When I got into college and right after college, I realized that I thrived at work when things were organized. In fact, I would go out of my way to continuously organize things, even when I worked at Burger King. Yep, I’d stack sauces nicely, I’d volunteer to organize the freezer and the stock room. When I worked at the bank as a customer service rep. with my own desk, everything was neat and tidy, lined up all pretty. There was an inbox and to file box.

Of course, at this time, you could still go back to my house and hardly believe we were the same person. My house was still my chaos.

Fast-forward about 10 years. I’m married with 3 kids. I homeschool. I work from home as an editor and social media consultant (while still trying to get published myself). Now, I find myself craving organization. Unfortunately, I now live in a house of people just like me. My husband and kids are not at all concerned about organization. They’re not “dirty,” they’re just messy.

I realized that if we ever hoped to have people over without the stress of a big clean-up in the hours before company comes, we need to get organized.

So, I started making little changes. “Hey, here’s a box to put our shoes in by the front door.”

“I’m going to clean the dishwasher out in the morning so you guys can put dishes in it throughout the day.”

“Let’s separate your toys into separate boxes so you don’t have to dump out the whole toy box to find all your blocks.”

“Here’s a place to hang your artwork instead of leaving it all over the floor.”

Then something weird began to happen.

The more organization I began to implement, the more organized I wanted to be. The more organized I wanted to be, the more my house began to both frustrate and excited me. The more frustrated and excited I became, the more ideas I had, the more we got done, the better I felt . . .

Of course, now I realize that part of the issue is just that we have too much stuff. So, as I continue to organize my house, I’m also decluttering as I go. I’ve already gotten rid of a huge box of toys, another huge box of clothes, and like 5 bags of trash. Yay!

I’m looking forward to the day when my house is neat and organized. Of course, I’ll have to train everyone so that we can keep it that way!

Are you an organized person? Or do you prefer organized chaos?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

3 comments on “Organization is like a Drug

  1. For me, organization is like drug, too. But for me, like an opiate. In small doses it takes away pain, but if I take too much it puts me to sleep (bores me) and I’m afraid an overdose would result in a coma or death. 🙂

    • Yes I agree to some extent with that. When I am the most stressed, cleaning de cluttering and organizing is like an opiate as you put it.
      It brings me peace and well being. Because it brings organization to my inner world.
      Yisraela

  2. Growing up we had to not only keep my room clean and my brothers keep theirs clean, but had to scrub, clean, wash floors , iron etc the rest if the house. My folks were rigid in their cleanliness. I don’t know that us the reason for my meticulousness, but I
    am. I am less
    Of a perfectionist than I once was. It would drive me crazy! Why was it necessary to be do perfect in my life?
    I did much soul searching . And answers revealed themselves to me. The answers in some part, I did not like the answers to. But peace of mind was more important. Now I realize perfection in my life us not so important in everything. Where it is necessary , then I find peace in that. When it isn’t necessary , I find peace in that as well. I have been hired at jobs for my reputation for organization.
    So I am a organizational wizard. It needs to be that way. I dislike the time wasted in searching for things that I can put back in the same organized place. It brings peace to my world.
    Yisraela

Leave a Reply

