1 Comment

Alphabet blogging: B is for…

Book high.1097834_65202346

This happened to me last week. I recently found the final book in the Quadrail series by Timothy Zahn, and since it’s been so long since I read the first one (about two and a half years ago, I think) I’ve been re-reading the series. It was a good thing I did, because there were a lot of little nuances I’d forgotten and which I really loved seeing become more important as the series progressed.

Last week, I wanted to do nothing but live, eat, and breathe the Quadrail series. By the time I hit the final book, Judgement At Proteus, I was squirming with the anticipation. And it didn’t let me down. It was every bit the awesome, action-driven, twisted plotting type of story I’ve come to expect. If any of Zahn’s other novels are like this (I have started another one of his series, the Dragonback books, and it promises to be every bit as cool), then I have a serious amount of collecting to do.

I finished the final book in two days, and since then I’ve been walking around in a bit of a daze, my brain picking apart all the foreshadowing, every twist and turn, all the plants that were put even in the previous novels but used in the final few chapters of the last book. I’m still cheering for Frank and Batyta and the whole group.

In a few days, I’ll probably crash from the high, which means I’ll get all mopey because, as awesome as the books are, there isn’t another one. That’s it–the final book. I read it, and now I have to move on to other characters, and other worlds, and I’ll never again read Judgement at Proteus for the very first time.

But for now, I’m going to enjoy it. 🙂

Do you ever feel dazed from writing that is just awesome?

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

One comment on “Alphabet blogging: B is for…

  1. Yes. ALL THE WEYRS OF PERN by Anne McCaffrey, the best book by that author I’ve ever read (surpassing even the second of the KILLASHANDRA series, and everything else before it in the PERN series, which is saying a subjectively great deal). 😀

Leave a Reply

