1 Comment

A New School Year

file0001024202589So, this past week has been pretty crazy around here as we were preparing for the new school year, which starts today. If you didn’t know, we homeschool our 3 kids. I have 2 girls, who are going into 3rd grade, and a pre-k boy.

On a whim last Sunday, I decided we needed to move our school room for the tiny room it was in to the playroom, and then move my office (which was in our bedroom) to the old school room. Hubby agreed–but he had work and school during the week. That means that MOST of the moving was left up to me and the kids. Fun, fun! My father-in-law came over on Wednesday to help with moving some furniture, and my husband helped with the rest on Saturday. All in all, the move went smoothly.

The new school room is now mostly put together and organized. Only a few things left for me to do in there. My office, on the other hand, still needs a lot of work. I’m trying to declutter and organize as I go so that when the rooms are put together, they’re put together right.

Today, though, is the first day of our new school year. I’m really excited. We’re using some tried and true curriculum, but we’re also branching out with some new choices. The girls are excited because they’ve been bugging me about school for the last 6 weeks. My son doesn’t really care either way, but I don’t think he realizes he’ll be more involved this year. Muahahaha .  .  .

So, please be praying for us as we get into a new routine. There’s always bumps and twists during the adjustment period.

Have a blessed week!

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

One comment on “A New School Year

  1. Wow! Now I am impressed! I teach school and try or so hard to find the time to write, BUT I am not a MOM too! Except to 9 (yes 9) spoiled animals — 5 feral cats on the porch outside, 3 domestics inside, and a Chihuahua, who thinks he is the only one. School starts up again for me next week. Normally gone from the house for 12 hours a day with commutes too.

Leave a Reply

