11 Comments

Alphabet Blogging

Yeah, I know, I missed blogging…again…for several weeks…typewriter

*sigh* It’s just so easy to do, you know? Monday rolls around, and I think, “Oh, I’ve got a couple of days…I don’t have an idea yet, so I’ll wait and see what happens…” And then somewhere on Tuesday, I completely forget that I have a blog post due, so rather than taking some time to pound one out, I keep merrily typing away on my WIP…

And then I wake up Wednesday morning, late as usual, and scramble out of bed to get the day moving. Usually I have a feeling that I’ve forgotten something, but I push it out my head with a “no, no, I’m fine…”

Then around noon it hits me. “I forgot to post on NAF again!”

Agh.

So yesterday I was trying to brainstorm some good post ideas. It’s harder for me to come up with stuff for NAF than it is for my personal blog. Tatterdemalion is what I call an “author lifestyle” blog. I talk about everything on there, because it’s about my life. Granted, writing features prominently in many of my posts (not that I post on a good schedule there either), but that’s because it’s a facet of my life.

Here on NAF, I feel like posts should mostly pertain to writing. And really, for the most part, my writing life isn’t that exciting. Sure, I could do another post about how I’m stuck, or my struggles with balancing writing with the rest of my life, but how many of those do you guys really want to read? It would start to feel like a hamster in an exercise wheel after a while.

I could, I suppose, post writing advice and all this other stuff…but I feel like I never really have anything to contribute to that conversation. There are better, wiser authors out there that you should definitely listen to over me.

So as I was brainstorming, I noticed a couple of author friends had posted links to blogs that started with a particular letter. Hmm. Alphabet blogging. And the ideas started steamrolling. I’m sure that there’s a specific way to do this, but I’m taking my original idea and running with it.

For the next 26 weeks, I’m going to blog through the alphabet. For each week, I’ll have one letter. I’ll pick the first writing or book-related word that pops into my head that starts with that letter and craft a blog post around it.

This is partially just to get me blogging regularly again…but also, I hope to improve my brainstorming process and make my posts fresh again. This could be interesting, so I guess we’ll see how it goes! And hopefully, I’ll give you guys some laughs along the way. 😉

So, as always, the beginning is an excellent place to start. See you next week with the letter A! 🙂

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

11 comments on “Alphabet Blogging

  1. Yes, life has just gotten away from us lately. My post here on Monday was close to the same thing. lol . . . I have a plan to blog through the alphabet on social media topics starting in September. I look forward to seeing your blogs!

  2. How about that… next week may therefore have *two blogs beginning with the letter A. Is Sesame Street sponsoring NAF now? 😉

    This series should be interesting!

  3. Guilty – as – charged. 🙂

  4. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with, Heather!

Leave a Reply

