2 Comments

Summer Brain

file000174805591So, several weeks have passed since my last post. I’m not sure how many–I lost count. I have to apologize. NAF kind of got lost in the waves of life this summer. All sorts of craziness: vacation, illness, work, kids, etc. No sooner did I recover from one wave than another crashed down, sending me spinning beneath the water. I’m not 100% sure I’m on a smooth-sailing sea yet–the waves are still kind of choppy. But, for now, I thought I’d share my sunny face.

Writing hasn’t been at the top of the priority list either. I still need to finish up my fantasy novel so I can get it out to those who requested it. But I have seen an increase in my editing business, so that has been such a blessing.

This week is prep week for our new homeschool year. Normally, this is just looking over all the curriculum and making a plan. This year, though, it also involves moving a few rooms around! The school room is going in the playroom, my office is going in the schoolroom, and I’m not sure what’s going in my old office yet. Oh, I’m super excited.

The kids are doing well, though. They’re enjoying the summer sun. One of the girls’ friends down the street has a pool, so they’ve spent many afternoons down there. The boy is way to smart for his own good, constantly testing limits and such. Half the time, I can’t decide whether to laugh or scream. Ever feel like that?

Anyway, so that’s where I am. I hope to get back into blogging here again, sharing my journey. I’ve missed you guys!

So, what has your summer been like? Any fun or exciting vacations, adventures, writing?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

2 comments on “Summer Brain

  1. Our summer has been busy, too. A few short trips for fun to Lake Tahoe. A lot of gardening and homeschooling (we go year-round). A little writing and a lot of research and letting stories simmer.

    Looking forward to the change of seasons. Fall is one of my favorite times of the year.

  2. Glad to hear you are on the mend!

    Crazy busy, just living. We’ve been doing a version of Daily 5 in the mornings with the kiddos as I try to maintain a certain routine that might ensure writing/editing time. But something always comes up to cut into that block of time. Summer has been an adventure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

