Leave a comment

Toss Or Keep

I’m in an organizing phase right now. I think it’s because I’m tired of the random piles of stuff…not necessarily everywhere, but in slightly-annoying places, like all over my office, or the empty corner of our bedroom, or the built-in bookshelf by the front door.

So I started organizing. And in my organizing, I went through both my closet and my bookshelves.

Going through clothes isn’t a new thing for me. My style has majorly changed over the last few years, so I’m constantly buying a few new pieces and getting rid of others that I don’t like any more (or that just plain don’t fit any more.)

My bookshelves, on the other hand…y’all, it is pulling teeth for me to get rid of books. It can be the most dull, annoying story that ever made me want to throw the book across the room, but I still want to keep it. Because someone put time into the story, no matter how crappy. And because I like having overstuffed bookshelves. It’s just something that makes me happy.

But I gritted my teeth and did it.

Over the last couple of years, I’ve gotten rid of a book here, a book there, through Paperbackswap.com. So I guess I’m not really getting rid of books, I’m just exchanging one I don’t want for one that I do. But this time, I got really picky.

And I posted thirteen books on Paperbackswap.

Thirteen.

Never in my life have I gotten rid of so many books at once. (Except for school books. But those don’t count.) Justin was quite proud of me. Toby would have been more happy, I think, if I’d gotten rid of the Divergent trilogy and my Timothy Zahn novels. I don’t know what he has against those books. But they’re the only ones he ever pulls off my shelves and throws on the floor. Ever. And I’m like, “dude! Give it fifteen years, and you’ll love those books!” (Well, he’d better, anyway.) 😉

I got rid of the books I’d never read (yeah, there were a couple) and the ones I’d never read again. And then, while I was in the mood, I sat down with my Kindle, went through all the e-books I had, and deleted the ones I disliked and sorted the others into categories. Then I sat back and grinned, enjoying the fact that I now had more space for books that I would truly enjoy.

just call me the crazy book-hoarder lady... ;)

just call me the crazy book-hoarder lady… 😉

That was three weeks ago. And today, I just received the last of the books I ordered when I swapped eight books all at once on Paperbackswap. My TBR pile is now huge again, and my bookshelves are back on their way to overstuffed. 🙂

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

