3 Comments

Create Your Own Muse

The hardest part about writing is uh….writing.

Most writers have reels of stories in their head. When that story begins to coalesce in my mind, I get excited, almost giddy, to write it down. However, my fingers tend to lag behind my mind.

Writing takes time. And if I get bogged down in the details of writing well, sometimes I lose the excitement that caused me to write in the first place.

That’s when the hard work begins.

Many who want to write don’t because their waiting for a spark of inspiration.

For their Muse to awaken.

Muse

The word Muse comes from the nine goddess daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne. They were considered the source of inspiration for poetry, art, and science. In our modern day, it usually refers to a person, thing, or feeling that sparks a person’s creativity.

But the word muse has another meaning according to Websters.

It’s “a state of deep thought or dreamy abstraction”. In it’s verb form it means “to become absorbed in thought, to think about something carefully and thoughtfully”.

I don’t believe in Greek goddesses, and while I have things that tend to inspire my imagination, too often we writers want the stars to align before we’ll sit down to write.

My best writing occurs when I sit down, stare at the blank page for a bit, and start musing about my story. It might take twenty to thirty minutes, but eventually my imagination kicks into high gear, and the excitement is back.

Yes, there are hard parts to press though. But if I wait for everything to feel perfect, I get nothing done.

If you’re waiting for Zeus’ daughters to show up, it might be time to sit down and create your own muse 🙂

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

3 comments on “Create Your Own Muse

  1. Reblogged this on Tales of the Undying Singer and commented:
    What I’d rather create is a 48-hour day… or ten clones of myself… so I can devote the time and energy a creative writing career requires.

Leave a Reply

