3 Comments

Themes and Playlists

Forged Steel is done! Well, my final draft is, anyway. Yay!

So that’s why I’ve been missing for a couple of weeks. I finished Forged Steel in a flurry of several days writing a long time (four hours per day, in fact…my hubby very nicely spent his days off taking care of Toby and a lot of the housework so I could get this done.)

Now that I’m done, I thought it might be interesting to share some of the songs I listened to while writing and rewriting and editing the silly thing. I’ve always liked music, and have even written with it on and off for years, but Forged Steel was the first novel I’ve written that I took the time to build a specific playlist for.

I’ve listened to that playlist for so often in the past six months that I’m pretty sure I’ve dreamed about it. I know that after a while, it got so easy to write in Forged Steel because once I turned on that playlist, the ideas started flowing.

If you’re interested in listening to the playlist on Spotify, click here. For those who want to look up the songs that only interest them, here’s the list in its entirety:

Saint Patrick’s Breastplate: Michael Gallagher. (This is an odd choice for the playlist, as the style really doesn’t match anything else. But it’s a traditional Irish prayer one of my characters quotes a part of in the book, and I wanted to include it.)

Hero: Skillet

Undone: FFH

Remember the Empire: House of Heroes

Viva La Vida: Coldplay

Breathe Into Me: RED

Already Over: RED

The Resistance: Anberlin

Stay Close: Fireflight

Reclusion: Anberlin

Unbreakable: Fireflight

Radioative: Imagine Dragons

Battle Cry: Skillet

Return of the Eagle: The Eagle soundtrack

A Great Destiny: Jonathon Maiccio

Swords of the Six: Jonathon Maiccio

Superhero: Jonathon Maiccio

I Am Transformer: Jonathon Maiccio

Recognizer: Daft Punk (TRON: Legacy soundtrack)

Lachrimae: Audiomachine

Ironwing: Two Steps From Hell

Outlands: Daft Punk (TRON: Legacy soundtrack)

Freedom Fighters: Two Steps From Hell

Heart of Courage: Two Steps From Hell

Enigmatic Soul: Two Steps From Heal

Guts and Glory: Jonathon Maiccio

24 Hours Til Doomsday: Future World Music

Life Goes On: Future World Music

Sands of Time: Audiomachine

Dreamscapes and Wishes: Future World Music

Finale: Future World Music

With great Power…: Future World Music

Dream Chasers: Future World Music

One of the reason I like epic music, such as Two Steps From Hell and Audiomachine, is because they’re like movie soundtracks, but not attached to any movies. I can imagine my own scenes so much better if I don’t have scenes from a specific movie going through my head!

Another song that I didn’t include in the list, but that you’ll see if you go to Spotify, is the song The Last of the Wilds by Nightwish. It’s an amazing piece of music, and I wanted to save it for last because it’s the theme song of my favorite character.

Eliaster

Meet Eliaster Tyrone, the cynical, grumpy fae who, so far, seems to be the fan-girl favorite, much to his everlasting dismay. I’m pretty proud of this character, and he’s a lot of fun to write! Once again, the secondary characters are stealing the show… 😛

Is your writing inspired by music? If you have a theme song for a beloved character (or just a song in general that inspires your books) post it in the comments! (And if it links to specific character, be sure to introduce us!) 🙂

 

 

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

3 comments on “Themes and Playlists

  1. I can only admire those who can do so much in a relatively short time. For me, just writing a short story to my standards can take as long as several days.

    Really this sounds like a lot of fun:

    > Meet Eliaster Tyrone, the cynical, grumpy fae who, so far, seems to be the fan-girl favorite, much to his everlasting dismay. I’m pretty proud of this character, and he’s a lot of fun to write! Once again, the secondary characters are stealing the show… 😛

    You really make me want to read about him! Even his name is euphonious in the right way. It’s so important to this musician that people get their characters’ names “right”.

    Heh, my own Alain Harper simply doesn’t *let anybody else steal the show. Indeed it’s his nature to want to share the stage, and when possible play Guest MC, in everybody else’s show. 🙂 Give him half a chance and he’d cross over to your universe and share an ale (or whatever) with Eliaster Tyrone, just to get his life story. 😀 But he does act as a catalyst for whatever secondaries he’s involved with – he has a rather low tolerance for people putting themselves down and not living up to their potential toward good ends (and still less for people who live up to their potential but toward bad ends).

    My playlist varies but often it consists of a group of tracks I sequenced on Finale and Scala (programs on my computer): originals and others in just intonation, which gives them a tonal purity not found in Western music very often anymore. (I have come to rather dislike piano tuning, for all its versatility in modulation, for its comparative banality and absolute lack of pure harmonies.) “Hey, Christopher Alain” is my main character’s theme song and on this page you’ll find two versions of it, including lyrics (the lyrics include a photo of the unknown model who inspired Alain’s wife, Autumn Harvest Selene):

    http://www.rakkav.com/earthlight/index.htm

    CDs containing all or most these tracks are available upon request (donations welcome). 🙂 As I recall the set I use for CDs no longer have the higher-pitched “Hey, Christopher Alain II” upon them.

  2. Reblogged this on Tales of the Undying Singer and commented:
    My most frequent playlist is here and “Hey, Christopher Alain” is the theme song of my protagonist…
    http://www.rakkav.com/earthlight/index.htm

  3. The song I think of as the “theme” for Alara’s Call is Lionheart by Angels of Venice: http://www.last.fm/music/Angels+Of+Venice/_/Lionheart

Leave a Reply

