6 Comments

Cold Feet!

file0001390071757Even though spring has finally sprung around here, I’ve got cold feet!

Now, these feet aren’t actually freezing. I’m one of the ones who would wear sandals in the winter if it weren’t for the snow. This is the OTHER kind of cold feet.

I’ve reached the final polish of the final chapters of my fantasy novel. *gulp* Here in the next couple of weeks, I could possibly be hitting send to hightail my full manuscripts to the Inbox for a certain agent and a certain editor who requested it back at the ACFW conference last year. *palms sweating*

Thing is . . . I’m terrified. It’s odd, because I’ve been rejected before. In fact, I had 3 requests of my last novel, and had it rejected all 3 times. What if this manuscript still isn’t good enough? What if they roll their eyes and hit delete? What if . . .?

This is an awful game that writers play with ourselves. We get ourselves so wound up, wanting to be accepted, wanting to be validated. But to what end?

And are we recognizing the audience that we truly write for?

An Audience of One.

I know, deep inside, that I’ve written the story that God gave me. I gave it my best effort–poured my heart and soul into it. Wherever it goes from here, that’s in God’s hands. I know He is pleased with the work I’ve done, because I obeyed and I gave it my all.

So, why do I still let myself get so scared? Why do I worry about the gatekeepers?

Aaaahhh!

How do you get past the fear? Even if you self-publish, you’re still putting your work out there for the world to see. How do you get past the fear?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

6 comments on “Cold Feet!

  1. Press send; duck & cover. Walk away, do something else, start the next story. It is hard and I’m not sure it gets easier. But you do get stronger with each one. Even rejections can push you to a new level.

  2. Maybe it’s part of the ‘job’.

  3. Some of us writers are more vulnerable to this than others… how we’re viewed by others speaks like a “critical parent” in our heads, or we fear it will. I am definitely one of these, in writing, songwriting and public speaking.

    Think of what you do as God’s opportunity through you to move the people around you to another and a better place than where they are. I wouldn’t have had the guts to say certain things I said recently if I couldn’t put myself in that frame of mind.

  4. I think that sometimes we are so connected to our manuscripts that we see a rejection of a MS, in some level, as a rejection of ourselves. I’ve had to remind myself of this quite a lot this year!. Sometimes we need to get a little distance from our work and try not to take the rejections so personally, which will help with the “cold feet” syndrome! Even saying that, though, I know it’s hard! Best of luck with your MS, I hope it goes well!

  5. Ralene,

    Your “audience of one” comment truly resonated with me. When I was playing football in high school, a college player I really admired offered me the following advice regarding my nerves and anxiety in those moments just beofre kickoff: just imagine God as the only one in the stands. That’s the only one you need to play for.

    When I entered the coaching profession, my mentor offered me very similar advice: coach as though God were in the stands and not the fickle fans.

    When I first began querying agents and publishers and received the brunt of repeated rejection, I leaned heavily on that advice – that I write not for the approval of others, but for the glory of One. While it has been difficult to come oh so close with a few publishers (I can truly relate to what you’re feeling), I still remind myself that at the end of the day there’s One whose grace is sufficient to sustain me regardless of what enfolds on my journey as an author.

Leave a Reply

