1 Comment

WIP Report April 2014

NAF WIP April 2014

Kristen Stieffel:

WIP Title: Boh’s Abdication
Current Word Count: 104,848
Expected Word Count: 100,000
Goal Finish Date: March 1
Draft 1, 2, Editing etc?: First Draft

Biggest Struggle: I finally figured out how to reach the expected conclusion of the book…but it requires writing another 30 scenes. And I’m already behind deadline and over word count. Double yoikes.

Biggest Success/Encouragement: I was appointed vice president of our local Word Weavers chapter and was also asked to be a mentor to new chapters.

Link to share: Name that Color: http://chir.ag/projects/name-that-color/#A69279
Some of the color names are weird and will not help you, but some of them will. I mean, you may not want to describe a character’s hair as donkey brown…but it depends on the character.

Do you listen to music while writing? If so, what kinds? I listen to instrumental music, including classical and new age. I especially like the Epic Soundtrack channel on Pandora.

 

Avily Jerome:

Stats are the same for me; still editing The Days of Noah. Goal finish date May 28

Biggest struggle, as always, finding time to get it done.

Biggest success/encouragement: Not so much an encouragement, but having the Realm Makers deadline in front of me really helps motivate me.

Music: Yes, I often listen to music, usually on Pandora. Depending on what I’m working on, I usually prefer instrumental, but not necessarily classical. I like symphony-meets-electric guitar styles, and upbeat instrumentals, like from movie sound tracks.

 

Ren_smalRen Black:

Title: Secrets of the Dragon Seal
Condition: Revisions
Current Word Count: 6,000

Latest Struggle: Part of it now is that I’m so out of habit that it’s hard to focus and the page/computer screen can be intimidating. The world around me rarely “quiets” and when it does I’ve been tired and mentally worn.

Success?I had some successes, but honestly, in the world of writing I can’t claim much to crow about.

Music while Writing: I too favor instrumental music and have been enjoying Pandora. I’ve been using channels like David Arkenstone, Piano Guys, Lindsey Sterling and Blackmil. I also enjoy movie music so I have a John Williams station. However, I also like to listen to the songs that I’ve linked to characters.

 

Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward
84,000
90,000

May 15
Draft Two Edits

Struggle: writing a beginning that sets up world, characters and magic in a way that creates sympathy and ease of reading. Want to show weakness without pushing reader away.

Encouragement: I can write 2k a day for the days I stay after work. Great focus time.

Link to share: Join me on Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7099403.Timothy_C_Ward

About Ren Black

Part-time novelist. Weekend artist. Full-time Mother. Ex-poet. Perfectionist by training. Compulsive researcher sporadically. Prone to fits of linguistic commentary Unorthodox Renegade occasionally. Sarcastic by habit... Dreamer Always... Consider Yourself Warned

One comment on “WIP Report April 2014

  1. Blessings and good writing/editing, everyone.

Leave a Reply

