7 Comments

Creative Marketing and Dark Chocolate

DSCN0675This just in: I have invaded my stash of Dark Chocolate M&Ms.

The last week has just been insane! Lots of stuff going on–good stuff, but it’s keeping me busy. Yay! On top of the normal goings-on, my mom will be here later today, which meant a cleaning frenzy over the weekend. It also meant no time to write! Therefore, I have not prepared a post for this week.

Instead, I decided to start a fun discussion on NAF. Writers are having to do more and more of their own marketing these days, especially if they are self-published or published with a small press. So, I thought we’d talk marketing today. With many book launches, we see the usual: recruiting reviewers, organizing a blog hop, putting together street teams, writing guest pots, etc. But, how does that make authors stand out?

What are some creative ways you’ve used to market your book? Or what are some creative ideas you’ve seen other authors use?

Let’s help each other brainstorm ways to be unique and get our book in front of new readers.

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

7 comments on “Creative Marketing and Dark Chocolate

  1. Blog a lot on non-writing things, don’t be a pest in social media,… One press I play with does a lot of promotion at cons. Another one takes part in big book signings. Posters, banners… one writer I know put a float together based on her book for the Independence Day parade in her town. Swag of many kinds…

    • Wow! The parade float idea is pretty uniqie–I don’t think I’ve ever heard of that.

      Yeah, one of my crit partners had dog tags made for her debut novel. I felt so special when she sent me one!

  2. Donita K. Paul handed out bookmarks… hundreds of them! I’ve always thought that they pack a punch for the low cost involved, and I do the same. Speaking of which, it’s time for me to order more.

  3. One thing is sure. People get tired of hearing you shout, “Buy my book!” It’s better to just make friends. Enjoy other authors and write/talk about things that are mutually interesting to all of you (especially in your genre). That way you become more visible, but in a good way: as a friend whose intent isn’t necessarily to sell you a book.

Leave a Reply

