4 Comments

Fighting the Right Enemy

Writing can be a lonely task even if you’ve joined arms with other writers who understand you. As such, we are often prone to fits of discouragement which stall our progress.

One of the things we tell couples in marriage counseling is to fight the right enemy. My spouse isn’t my enemy (and even if they were, Jesus tells me to love my enemies and to do good to them). But there are spiritual forces aligned against us – those who seek to steal, kill, and destroy what God is doing in our lives.

Cannon_Fire

Having recently returned from our yearly Pastor’s Conference, I was reminded how important it is to get into the Bible everyday so I can be equipped to fight the real enemy of my soul. The one who lies to me about who I am, what God thinks, or what God wants to do in my life.

The Bible tells us to examine ourselves regularly, but there is a difference between examination and condemnation. Our hearts are tricky things, more deceitful than anything else in the world. And the enemy has been studying men’s hearts for a long time. Thankfully God is greater than my heart because He knows the real truth of a matter.

And He’s gracious when I fail.

I can’t say the same thing for myself sometimes. And so I need to remind myself that I’m not the enemy either. That there’s a God out there who’s crazy enough about me to die for me.

When we stand in those truths, we can turn our cannons at the proper foe.

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

4 comments on “Fighting the Right Enemy

  1. Reblogged this on Tales of the Undying Singer and commented:
    “Thankfully God is greater than my heart because He knows the real truth of a matter. And He’s gracious when I fail. I can’t say the same thing for myself sometimes. And so I need to remind myself that I’m not the enemy either. That there’s a God out there who’s crazy enough about me to die for me.”

  2. I am so grateful God is in charge and not me. I strive to live peacefully and wholly in God’s beatitudes and laws. He has been merciful and for that I am grateful. He protects me as I seek protection from the enemy.
    Good post
    Yisraelaa

Leave a Reply

