6 Comments

New Project Euphoria

girl_silhouetteI didn’t think it would happen, but at last it did. On Saturday, I finally finished the revision of my latest WIP. What a rush to hit ‘save’ and close that last chapter. It is done.

Oddly enough, though, with 3 chapters left to revise, the female lead in my next project just wouldn’t be quiet! She kept trying to introduce me to her story world. She sounded scared–frantic (as she should be, considering what is coming). I kept trying to block her out, shoving her into the back of my mind.

“Later,” I said. “I’ve only got 3 chapters left, then I’m all ears.”

“We’re in danger,” she whispered.

“I know.”

“There’s no time.”

At this point, I’m rolling my eyes because she is a fictional character in a fictional story world that plays on my time–not hers. I ignore her.

“The mist has cast the mountains in shadows, and it spreads.” The tears in her voice wrench at my heart.

I inhale and open a new Word document. “Okay, go on.”

Out popped the short prologue in like 15 minutes.

“Can I finish up my other story now? I need to get them to the next kingdom before HER time runs out.”

“Hurry, world builder. Hurry.” And she was gone.

Thank goodness. As much as I wanted to work on Fauna’s story (that’s her name), I had already promised myself I would wait until I was done with this WIP because I needed to get the back half to my critique group on the first of February. Mission accomplished.

Then I said I was going to rest awhile, let my brain cool off, before jumping into Fauna’s story. That didn’t happen either. By the time the kids went to bed, I was writing out character sketches and scanning Pinterest for character and scene photos.

Something new with this WIP–I’ll be using Scrivener for the first time. I’m trying to use this coming week as sort of a learning week. I haven’t played around with it much since I bought it a few months ago. It seemed like too much work to switch everything over from my system to Scrivener, so I decided to wait until I started a new project. Should be interesting! I’ve heard some many good things about this program.

So as one story closes, another one begins. I’m excited to see where this adventure takes me (and Fauna)!

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

6 comments on “New Project Euphoria

  1. I can totally relate to this scenario. Sometimes the best thing is to go ahead and write out the inspiration when it hits. And then once it’s out I can usually focus again on whatever I’m working on.

    Let me know how things go with Scrivener. I’ve been using it for a few years and really like it. I don’t use *all* the features, but I’m pretty familiar with it now. I tend to generate tons of notes and ideas when working on a story. Scrivener helps me keep things all in one place (the many hand-written notes I write during sermons or on napkins are transcribed into it, too).

    • What do you think is the best thing about using Scrivener?

      • The best thing about using Scrivener is having “everything in one place”, visually.

        I have dozens of documents of varying lengths (some short notes, some whole chapters, etc) all organized in a “binder” along the left. I can jump between them with a scroll and a click (or using Back / Forward). If I’m not sure where something is, I can search the whole collection. To me, this is invaluable. My brain works in grand collections of hodge podge detail, very non-linear. And yet, I do like to group things that go together. To try and find something if I was storing this info in a collection of Word docs would be craziness.

        My second favorite thing is that it automatically backs up the project each time I close it. I usually work off a USB drive plugged into whatever computer I’m using (my Netbook or my PC, usually). I periodically back up this USB drive onto my computer. But Scrivener’s backup is yet ANOTHER backup in another place on whatever computer I’m using. I like the extra backup, and yes, it has come in handy before.

        And then the third thing I really like is the “snapshot” ability. Right before revamping a scene, I can take a snapshot, which saves that version of the document, in case I ever want to return to that version or maybe find some wonderful turn of phrase that gets lost during the rewrite. It’s difficult for me to “kill my darlings” as some people put it, and the snapshot ability comforts me. I feel like I don’t have to kill them, I can just save a copy of my darlings somewhere safe and kill their clones instead. 😉

        Okay, I’ll stop. There’s a lot I like about it! 🙂

  2. I hope you will post about your experience in switching from Word to Scrivener. I’m just about to do the same.

Leave a Reply

