8 Comments

On to the Next Dream

The other night, I sat down and wrote out a “business plan” for my writing for the next ten years. I say “business plan” with set goalsquotation marks because it was just for fun.

What? I’m the only one who likes making “business plans” for fun? You say I’m weird? (Hadn’t you picked up on that already?) O.o

I know this plan won’t happen. Family and friends are more important than my characters, and I do have a life other than staring at a computer monitor all day. Not to mention unforeseen life events and all that uncertain stuff about publishers actually accepting the work, etc. (Though some of the stuff, like my novellas, I’d definitely self-publish).

But if I did somehow wildly, weirdly, and miraculously stick to this plan of mine, I could publish about twenty novels/novellas in about ten years.

Wow.

Even half that plan…ten novels/novellas in ten years…would be amazing.

It kind of shocked me, to be honest. When I started writing at age twelve, I had a ton of unrealistic expectations for my writing, but the one thing that never changed was my desire to get something published. When that happened in 2010, my goal switched to having something in actual print, a physical copy of my words I could hold in my hands, show people the cover with my name on it, and say, “I wrote this.”

Fall of 2012, when the Avenir Eclectia: Volume 1 anthology published, that dream was realized. I somehow expected my desire to be satisfied, to smile and say, “Well, I did it. Now I can slow down and not work quite so hard.”

Ha. I couldn’t kid myself for longer than a couple of weeks. I wasn’t satisfied. I had a few short stories in print…now I wanted a novel. A thick book I could hold out and say, “I wrote all of this.” I have a feeling that I’ll always be like that. As soon as one dream is accomplished, I’ll eagerly forge ahead to the next one.

The idea of looking ten years ahead and having nearly a dozen stories out that I (mostly) wrote myself is just as crazy and unfathomable as when I was twelve, madly typing up my first story on my behemoth of a computer, and daydreaming about the day that I’d be published. To think that I’m finally accomplishing what I’ve wanted to do for my entire life is amazing. I feel very blessed to be doing this.

What about you? Is there a goal or daydream that you strive toward in your writing? Or have you hit it?

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

8 comments on “On to the Next Dream

  1. Doesn’t sound that far fetched to me… I sat down and wrote out a very aggressive production schedule last week! The thing with writing is you have to get things in motion, and the more you have out there for people to read, the more likely you are to hit a “critical mass” where you actually start making a decent income from your books and short stories!

  2. I recently wrote down everything I’d like to do as a writer and realized I’d have to clone ten of me to do it. 😀 I mean writing as a theological consultant, as a musician-scholar, and as a speculative-fiction author combined. Realistically, I don’t think I can do all three. The first I can do within a scheduled amount of time week by week and I gain my chief living that way. But either one of the second two could be expanded without limit as far as man-hours go and I can’t do both well. The day likely will come when I have to choose between the two.

    Anyway, your story really inspires me to deal with that particular problem, one way or another!

  3. Reblogged this on The Chronicles of Johanan Rakkav and commented:
    A comment I made here: ”

    I recently wrote down everything I’d like to do as a writer and realized I’d have to clone ten of me to do it. 😀 I mean writing as a theological consultant, as a musician-scholar, and as a speculative-fiction author combined. Realistically, I don’t think I can do all three. The first I can do within a scheduled amount of time week by week and I gain my chief living that way. But either one of the second two could be expanded without limit as far as man-hours go and I can’t do both well. The day likely will come when I have to choose between the two. Anyway, your story really inspires me to deal with that particular problem, one way or another!”

  4. […] In the WordPress blog THE NEW AUTHORS FELLOWSHIP, author H.A. Titus wrote today: […]

  5. Your dreams are your ticket to the next ten years, dream hard and they become reality. It’s great to have a plan, things get in the way sometimes, and they change. When they change, it’s almost like G-d fine tunes them. Look towards the stars with your feet on the ground!! Good luck, see you ’round!! P.S. Do you take Psalm requests?? if so, it would be nice to see psalm 91 in song (if you have already can you repeat??) TY

  6. Michael Hyatt says we have to dream big to make things happen. Even if it doesn’t happen EXACTLY as you wrote it down, even if you revised it a few times over the next 10 years, at least it gives you a guide to what you want. Have you read Platform by Michael Hyatt? Good book!

  7. Clone you say? Ha ha ha. I believe dreams are the kind of things that keep us sailing forward in a happy calm place where we try to be realistic and yet idealistic at the same time. I am glad for goals. It has kept me getting up each day and when I embrace them, I am better for it.
    Yisraela

Leave a Reply

