2 Comments

Moving Forward

2013 was an amazing year for me. I signed a contract with OakTara for the first book in my epic fantasy series. I’m just about halfway done with book two. I also started The Unspoken and am about halfway through that. I learned that I can write every day (even though December taught me how easy it is to make excuses not to write).

One of my goals was to finish the first draft of book two. So, it wasn’t a perfect year.

Which leads me to 2014.

Whether 2013 was a success or failure, writers must move forward. So, with that in mind, here are my goals for the coming year.

Moving-Forward

See Book one published (which I’m hoping happens in the first part of the year, but we’ll see).

Finish Book two of the Godslayer series and start the editing process.

Finish/Edit The Unspoken so I can start submitting it by 2015.

Begin pre-writing for Book three of the Godslayer series.

Write everyday (even if it’s only 100 words).

Read two craft books.

Attend Realm Makers and one general market conference. I’d love to go to FCWC as well, but that may not work out.

A hefty load 🙂 But not unreasonable. If the Lord wills, I’d love to get to a place where I write three books a year, so I’m not even touching that dream yet.

I guess in the end my real goal is to do more and do better than the previous year. To grow in my craft. While that may look different for each writer, that’s not a bad goal for all writer’s to have 🙂

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

2 comments on “Moving Forward

  1. Yep, the Florida conference is looking iffy for me, too. So many to choose from…you gotta set your priorities. Realm Makers is really important for our genre, so I’m glad you’re planning to attend. 🙂

  2. Joe and I started talking/dreaming about RM again last night. So hoping to make it again (since we have enough time to plan this year) and that God wants us to go.

Leave a Reply

