Leave a comment

Ready, Set, Write!

cohdra100_1426This week, the NAF writers are going to share their writing goals for 2014!

Now, I know some of you are shaking your heads. What’s the point of making New Year’s Resolutions you’re going to break next week anyway? Well, for me, my OCDness likes the crispness of beginnings. Whenever I decide to make changes, it always has to be at a beginning–Monday, first of the month, first of the year. But I also think New Year’s Resolutions are a good way to reflect on the past year, the good and the bad, and set up a plan for the future. If you read my post last week, well then, you already  know about why I think resolutions don’t work.

Anyway, that’s me babbling. Here are my goals:

1. Writing 500 words/day. This can be on anything from journaling to writing articles to working on my WIP as long as it adds up to 500 words. It’s just important to reinstate the habit of writing that I’ve gotten out of the last few months.

2. Finish Aletheia and get it out to those who requested it. I’ve only got the last 1/3 to rewrite. Yay! My hope is to have it done by the end of January.

3. Write the first drafts of my next 2 novels. One will be the sequel to Aletheia, and the other will be a standalone.

4. Branch out into freelance writing. I need to find a way to bring in some extra income, plus freelancing gives me a chance to stretch my writing muscles using a little different part of my brain.

So, that’s about it. I think all those goals are easily accomplished as long as I keep on track. We’ll see what 2014 brings!

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

Leave a Reply

