Leave a comment

Looking Back

2013As I reflect on this past year, I can honestly say there’s not a lot I would do differently. Some stuff, probably, including not committing to some things that turned out to be way more work for less reward than I anticipated, but really, not a lot.

I didn’t finish all the writing projects I wanted to finish, in large part due to the sheer volume of life that had to be lived. Sure, there were plenty of times I could’ve managed my time better, but there were also times when I accomplished more than I would’ve thought possible. I did meet a couple major goals I set for myself, completed more than one thing I was working on, and started some new things.

There were some definite lows, not the least of which was my father-in-law passing away on the last day of the year. However, there were a number of overwhelming highs, especially more than one instance where I saw God’s overwhelming blessing and provision for me personally as well as my family.

A couple of my favorite things about 2013:

Taking my kids to Legoland for Spring Break:

I’m married to a teacher and I’m a stay-at-home-mom/unpublished author, so, needless to say, finances at our house are always tight. We don’t get out much, even to go to the movies or take the kids bowling or any of those sorts of things, let alone do major things (we’ve never been to Disneyland or on a cruise or any other big family things like that), so getting to do something special with them is a rare and exciting treat. Thanks to a generous Christmas gift, the use of the friends-and-family-rate at a hotel thanks to a family member, and some great internet sales/coupons, we were able to take the kids to Legoland for two days over Spring Break. The littlest was just old enough to enjoy some of the things and the bigger ones were just young enough. It was the perfect window for all of them to get the most enjoyment out of the trip, and we had a really fantastic time.

Working for Splickety Magazine.

I have learned more and gotten so much better at so many things by working with Ben and the Splickety team this year, including writing/editing, working WordPress, working with people, managing my time, and organizing. Moreover, I’m honored and excited to be part of a company that has so much to offer and so much growth ahead. It’s exciting to see where we’ve come from in the last year and see the projections for the coming year, and to know that my efforts really have made a huge difference.

Attending the Realm Makers Conference.

The first ever Realm Makers Conference was beyond a doubt one of my favorite things this year. Along with getting to hang out with some of my best buds and make some new best buds, it was an enormously productive weekend career-wise. I learned a lot and made some great connections and had some great meetings, the results of which are still continuing to produce fruit. One major element of that is that I’ve been invited to teach one of the sessions at the 2014 conference.

I could go on all day with ups and downs, highs and lows, positives and negatives from this year, but overall 2013 was a good year and I can truthfully say I am pleased with the results. I’m looking forward to many wonderful and fruitful experiences in 2014!

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

Leave a Reply

