1 Comment

Holidays and Creativity

Every year, I look at December and say, “Well, I’m going to take off the last half of the month. No writing for me around Christmas.”

And every year, I always get to the fifteenth (my cut off date) and say, “But I’ve got all these ideas! And they have to come out now! My brain will explode if I don’t write!”

This year, I didn’t even bother. I mean, yes, I still have Christmas shopping to do, and decorations and cookies and candy to finish before my Christmas party on the fourteenth.

But I can’t turn my brain off. The only time I succeeded in not writing when I said I wouldn’t was the first month after Toby was born. I’m fairly convinced that that was because I was just utterly exhausted. My brain couldn’t even process a TV show more complex than Home Improvement. (Yes, I watched all the seasons for the first time during that month.) But once we hit our stride at about six weeks, I went back to my habit of pecking at a computer keyboard in my spare time. Granted, that sparte time has been reduced, but if I find myself with a spare few minutes on my hands while the kid is asleep, or the bread rising, or the glue is drying on an ornament, I’m inevitably drawn back to the keyboard.

Creativity is no respecter of sleep, holidays, or time.

Kinda like kids. 😉

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

One comment on “Holidays and Creativity

  1. I think it’s great that you feel like that, that you can’t switch off from being creative. I’m a bit like that as well. There’ll come a day when I think “I really need to give my brain a break” but I’m always drawn back to the keyboard or the notepad. Maybe we’re a bit odd but there are definitely worse things to be 🙂

Leave a Reply

