6 Comments

NaNo Week 4

Mr. Gibbs: “What’s in your head that’s put you in such a fine mood, Captain?”

Jack Sparrow: “We’re catching up.”

One of my favorite sequences in the original Pirates movie.

Sparrow had every reason to shut down the pursuit of The Black Pearl. The storm. The dangerous waters. The poor odds of defeating an undead pirate crew. But in his deranged mind he chose to see the one positive about their situation.

Turns out it’s appropriate to my mood as NaNo winds down.

Catching Up

I had the first dip in my motivation to win NaNo last week. Fifty thousands words in a month is a lot. And I was starting to experience fatigue. My resolve to hit at least a thousand words per day dipped to about five hundred. I found plot holes that bogged me down. I started to doubt the worth of the story.

Lots of reasons to turn to the ship around.

But one thing kept me writing as I saw my NaNo graph get farther each day from my goal. I had a vacation coming up for Thanksgiving week with plenty of time to catch up.

On Day 1 of said vacation I knocked out a bit over 5,000 words.  I’m tired, but I do feel invigorated in my quest to win NaNo (not that it’s a loss if I don’t hit 50k). One more big day, and I’ll be right on schedule 🙂

So, if you’re doing NaNo still, don’t give up. If you gave up, start again.

I will win this year no matter what because I started a story I’ve been dying to write all year, and I’m well on my way to finishing it. Whether you hit fifty thousands words or not, you’re a winner if you’ve accomplished the same.

I know NaNo says the world needs your novel. I’m not sure if that’s true. But you’ll never give the world a novel it does need if you don’t sit down to write one 🙂

 

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

6 comments on “NaNo Week 4

  1. Yeah, I hit some doldrums in the past week, too. Barely getting out 500-1,000 words a day on a couple of days. Couldn’t picture the scenes, so I couldn’t write them. Lost excitement about the story. Started feeling like what I’d written so far was monotonous and flat.

    Glad to hear that you’ve turned the corner and are well on your way again! I’ve got a little over 10,000 words to go. Hoping to knock a bunch out today and tomorrow so I can afford a lower word count Thursday. Would really like to finish by Friday night so I can spend Saturday uploading, verifying word count and still have time available in case anything unexpected happens (like if they don’t count words the same way Scrivener does).

    So fun to navigate this challenge with others. Excelsior, brother!

  2. I’m at almost 55,000 words, and counting. You can do it, Will!

Leave a Reply

