3 Comments

NaNo Week 2

Eleven days of NaNo are behind me. I’m on a good pace. I hit 15,000 words two days ago. That put me ahead, but I’m a smidgen behind now. My yearly audit at work kept me from writing the last two days.

Only three days so far where I haven’t written anything.

Part of the reason I’ve been so consistent is that this project really excites me. It’s called The Unspoken.

This story is darker than anything I’ve previously written. Even though I’m discovery writing it, I did this on purpose.

My inspiration came from the final years of the kingdom of Judah. I was finishing up teaching the book of Jeremiah with Lamentations and Ezekiel just around the corner. Despite an underlying thread of God’s grace, not exactly cheerful material. It’s hard to imagine presiding over the death of a nation like those two prophets did.

Which led me to a thought. What would it be like living in a nation that’s dying?

Dark Fantasy

Thus began my foray into dark fantasy. So far it’s sad and a bit unnerving. My first readers responded positively, but definitely had the heebie-jeebies. I feel like it’s my best work so far.

The story follows three characters.

A soldier hell-bent on avenging his father’s death.

A scholar who discovers an ancient myth is real.

A princess who finds her family at odds with her uncle, the king.

I plan on it being a trilogy, but for now am enjoying every page 🙂 Come back next week for more!

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

3 comments on “NaNo Week 2

  1. So cool! Excited for you, it’s such a great feeling when you love the story you’re working on. Especially if you’re discovering it as you go. And even more when it’s territory you haven’t covered before.

    I’m a bit behind on my word count. Spent the first 8 days of NaNo finishing up the plotting and character stuff I should have done in October. But I really wanted to be working on this story and writing real stuff (rather than off the cuff material that I wouldn’t really use later).

    Now I think it’s paying off. As long as I stick to 2,000+ words a day, I can finish NaNo on time. For the first time!

    Cheering you on…

  2. Sounds cool, Will. I look forward to seeing it.

Leave a Reply

