4 Comments

Repetitive Reading and Memorizing Monkeys

counting crocodilesDid your kids ever have one of those favorite books, the kind that, no matter how many times you read it, it never got old?

Mine have had several, different books at different stages. One they’ve always liked is “Bears in the Night,” a Berenstain Bears book. Silly and repetitive, with few words but extremely expressive pictures, it’s always  hoot. (Pun intended–if you’ve read the book.)

My daughter likes me to read “Love You Forever,” which, no matter how many times I read it, still makes me tear up.

The current favorite with my two-year-old is one that was also the favorite of his older brother, and has been read and reread so many times that I have it completely memorized.

Like, completely.

And it’s not a short book. I mean, it’s not long, per se, but it’s not teeny, either.

But it’s sort of my own fault for memorizing it. It’s cute, with a fun cadence and rhyme scheme that makes it catchy and easy to remember, and it’s a cute story with a little bit of actual plot and character. The artwork is delightful; clearly, the artist had a great time in the details.

It’s a story that I actually don’t mind reading over and over (to a point). The other day I think I read it literally eight or nine times.  See above: Totally memorized.  But I don’t even mind, because it’s delightful.

What, you ask, is this gem of literary greatness?

I’m glad you asked. It’s called “Counting Crocodiles,” by Judy Sierra.

And the reason it’s the focus of my blog post today is because I’ve already read it half a dozen times today, and it’s stuck in my head, and really the only thing to do in such a situation is to share the insanity.

“But the monkey was suspicious,

And the bananas looked delicious,

So she climbed atop her tree and cried,

‘I wonder are there more

Crocodiles in the Sea, or Monkeys on the Shore?'”

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

4 comments on “Repetitive Reading and Memorizing Monkeys

  1. Children’s books are so much fun, Avily! We had our favorites, too, and even now that my youngest is 13, we still have some of those books around our house. We’ll likely never part with them, either– LOL

  2. My son could recite “Goodnight Moon” from memory by the time he was three. Maybe sooner. He’s in college now, but I’m keeping that book forever.

Leave a Reply

