Leave a comment

Getting Organized, Part 2

beliefLast week, I told you about some of the chaos in my life. The insanity has reached a point in my home that no one is happy. It’s time to change. I am motivated! So, what’s the first thing I did?

1. Pray. It may sound a bit hokey, but I think it’s the most important step. It is a lot easier for us to stay strong in the hard times if we have trusted our decisions and our paths to God. He wants to help us, He wants to be there for us. If we let Him walk with us, He will be a constant source of strength and encouragement. Once I started praying in that direction, I didn’t stop. 

2. With God on my side, I sat down and evaluated all the different areas in my life where I am having issues. What wasn’t working and why. What needed to change and how. I brainstormed and challenged myself and prayed. I talked with my husband to get his opinions and his concerns. 

3. What I (and my family) lack is three big things: routine, organization, and motivation. Due a lot to how sick I’ve been over the last couple of years, it’s been hard to develop and stay with a routine. My light bulb moment came when I realized that a routine would HELP when I get sick. So, I needed a schedule, some sort of organization tool for the different areas in my life, and some kind of reward system.

4. Then, I picked apart my family’s schedule. First thing I had to decide is what was necessary and what was not. No need to overcomplicate things when I’m trying ot get us into a routine. Some things had to go–at least for now. Once I had the basic outside things scheduled, I went in and filled in with the day-to-day stuff (homeschool, house management, and my writing/editing).  I came up with a flexible routine that won’t overwhelm us, fits our lifestyle, and leaves room for changes.

People go back an forth about how necessary “schedules” are. Personally, I think everyone needs some kind of routine, especially if you have children. Routine gives kids a sense of peace, knowing what is coming up. Heck, they give the parents a sense of sanity! Routines/schedules can be as strict or flexible as your family needs/wants, but in my opinion every family needs one. 

Next week, I’ll talk about my new organization system! I figured there are three big areas in my life: homeschool, home management, and work. I need something that will work for all 3. Join me again next week to find out what it is!

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

Leave a Reply

