6 Comments

Retreat!

I’ve always found words with multiple meanings interesting. Retreat is one of those words.

While it can signify pulling away from an engagement with an enemy, it can also mean going away for a period of time to consider things.

With the house finally behind us, I broke my conference/retreat fast this weekend by attending our yearly Word Weavers retreat. It’s a great time for writing, critiquing, learning, eating (oh yes), and relaxing.

Retreat 2

I had a blast.

I tend to be a more analytic writer. I don’t talk to my characters, and they certainly don’t talk to me. Our keynote speaker, Joyce Magnun, about the creative process and inspiration. Let’s just say I got in touch with my creative side in a way that made way more sense to me than in the past.

And in the process I knocked out 5,000 words.

Money. Well. Spent.

Between the fellowship with new and old friends, and the progress on my story, this weekend reminded me why investing in my writing career is so important. If you’ve never attended a conference, retreat, or workshop for your craft, I strongly urge you to make the jump 🙂

Yes, you’re putting yourself out there. Yes, you’re setting yourself up for possible heartache.

But you’re also giving yourself the opportunity for so much good to occur.

Appropriately, the final word I wrote before closing my laptop for the weekend, was one of my characters shouting, “Retreat!”

I won’t shout it at you, but you get the point – Go retreat for a bit 🙂

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

6 comments on “Retreat!

  1. I’ve been playing with the idea of taking one day each week as a writing retreat, just during the month of November. Although I hope to be consistent in doing my 2,000 words each day for NaNoWriMo, it’s likely that I’ll need some catch-up time.

    Taking one week per year for either a writing conference (Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference) or personal writing retreat has been a great blessing over the past few years. I highly recommend finding a way to arrange some sort of “retreat” if you can. It helps me get perspective on my writing projects, but also helps me draw near to the Source of my creativity and gain a more eternal perspective.

  2. Thank you for this – enjoyable and instructive alike as always. The door hasn’t opened for me to attend a writers’ retreat but you’ve given me plenty of reason to keep my eye out for the opportunity.

    And by the way, I love your Novel of the Year synopsis – the brief description of what happens to the young priest would be enough to ruin anybody’s day.

    As it happens, next week I’m making a different kind of retreat: returning to the town in which I grew up and which I haven’t seen for 40 years. From what Google Maps shows much has changed there, including the house I lived in. I’m telling people I’ll know what I’m looking for when I find it. How many words will come out of the trip remains to be seen.

    • I recently re-visited a childhood home after 15-20 years away. It was… odd. Some things the same, so many things different. All said and done, the visit just made me sad. My childhood was truly gone, out of reach, hidden away somewhere in my gray cells without enough left in the real world to jog it out. Well, maybe. I haven’t tried that hard. The few memories I have are pretty nice. 🙂

      Hope your trip is… illuminating.

      • It will be. I’m under no illusions that I “can return home again” – previews from Google (even on the ground) and other places on the Web presage much there – and besides, my writing carries my childhood with me as its ultimate inspiration. But I’ve wanted to return for many years and when I came close in 1992 in an actual retreat, in nearby Pennsylvania, I felt I *was* returning home. The climate, the scale of the scenery, the very electrostatic charge of the place reminded me you can’t take the Midwesterner out of the boy. 🙂

    • I’m glad you like the quick synopsis 🙂 I’m a bit partial to it. How cool to revisit the place where you grew up!

Leave a Reply

