3 Comments

Getting Organized for Life, Part 1

55After being sick these last three weeks, I fell horribly behind in every aspect of my life. While hubby made sure the dishes were washed, the rest of the house fell into disarray. Homeschool didn’t happen. Editing and writing lagged; I couldn’t even turn the computer on without getting a bad headache. The huge consequence of that, unfortunately, is that we’re at the end o the month, and I have nothing done and everything is due!

My mom will be here on Wednesday, so getting the house clean is a priority. We’re also 4 weeks behind in our homeschool curriculum with the unpredictable holidays coming up. However, it is also the end of the month, which means that my crit partners submission is due and my submission is up next. I also wanted to enter the ACFW First Impressions contest–deadline November 1st at 4 p.m.–so I need to go over my first 5 pages. I have an editing client, who has been very patient with me, anxiously awaiting her web content that I’ve had since right before I got sick. Throw in the normal weekly blog posts and such and it feels like I’ll never fully catch up!

Being that sick, though, had me thinking (what else can you do?). I’ve always been a bit of a procrastinator, waiting til the last minute to get everything done. I’ve gotten out of the habit of being organized and writing everything down. It’s given my whole life a bit of disorganization that’s driving me a bit crazy. Okay, maybe more than just a bit. The more disorganized I’ve become, the more I just want to drop everything and do nothing. Have you ever felt like that? It’s rough. I know I don’t like where I am, but I look at the huge, seemingly insurmountable mountain I need to climb, and the energy, motivation, and desire rushes out with a long sigh.

But God calls me to more.

Yesterday, I was listening to a song on the radio, and the chorus been stuck in my head ever since.

But I refuse
‘Cause I don’t want to live like I don’t care
I don’t want to say another empty prayer
Oh, I refuse

To sit around and wait for someone else
To do what God has called me to do myself
Oh, I could choose
Not to move but I refuse
(Lyrics from Josh Wilson, I Refuse)

What a conviction that was! Josh Wilson took those words right out of my mouth. I wanted someone else to do what God called me to do. I just didn’t care. I didn’t want to feel overwhelmed. I didn’t want to feel weak. I didn’t want to feel like I was all alone. But that was exactly how I felt.

So, I started devising a new system for myself. A way that I can stay organized and keep on top of everything. I’m not sure how it will work when I get sick like I was this month. I don’t know that any system would work well in that situation. So, stay tuned next week as I unveil my super secret, nobody knows about it organization system. Okay, that might be a bit of an exaggeration. See ya then!

//

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

3 comments on “Getting Organized for Life, Part 1

  1. Wow, from the sound of it you might as well be trying to organize the Zombie Apocalypse, WORLD WAR Z-style. Whole lotta shakin’ goin’ down, whatever that means. 😀

  2. Have you been in my head? This whole year has been chaos chasing more chaos! I can’t wait to find out what you might have come up with that might help bring some organization for me, too!!! (for that, you may get into my head!!)

  3. It’s been harder and harder for me to do the daily things, let alone keep dishes and laundry going. I’m grateful I don’t have kids who could mess things up more, add more to the to-do list, etc. But I also don’t feel like I have help when/where I need it.

    Looking forward to hearing about your organization idea. Of course, implementing it is the key. Praying for God to give us all *focus*. That’s when things get done, and done well. =)

Leave a Reply

