1 Comment

Saddle-Up

We’re pretty much settled into our new home. I’ve found a few awesome writing spots (two outside, one inside), so that means one thing.

Time to saddle-up and get writing.

saddle up

With NANOWRIMO around the corner, and Godslayer Book one on the editor’s desk as I type this, I’ve got serious ground to make up in order to finish book two before November. I’m off to a good start with two thousand words in the last two days.

Why the hurry?

I always use NANO to jump-start new projects. Ideally, I’ll work on multiple stories at once. But getting started is always the hardest part. NANO forces me to do that.

I don’t necessarily think NANO is the best way to write a book. I’ve never gotten past 20,000 words when I’ve done it. But it makes me sit down and take an idea I’m excited about and finally put it into words. I started Godslayer book two last year, and another award winning story the year before that. I know the heart of NANO is to not do any pre-planning, but to start from scratch.

Yet, I think the joy of doing NANO is that I can do whatever I like. I’m ultimately accountable to me, and if I’m simply writing without my own personal goals in mind, I’m not sure it’s worth it. So I usually plot out the project I plan to do a few months in advance.

Do you have a story you’re excited to put to paper but haven’t started yet? Maybe you can join me for NANO in a few weeks! No one else is going to write it for you, so why not?

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

One comment on “Saddle-Up

  1. So glad you found some great writing spots in your new place!

    I participated in NaNoWriMo last year, and it helped get the gears turning a bit. I didn’t “finish” or do as much as I’d hoped, but it was still a good kick in the pants.

    Nowadays, I think there’s a lot more talk in writing circles about pre-planning for NaNo. Their official FAQ even says you can prep in advance, as long as you’re starting a new novel from scratch:

    “Outlines and plot notes are very much encouraged, and can be started months ahead of the actual novel-writing adventure. Previously written prose, though, is punishable by death.”

    And like you said, this is your project, you can do whatever you like! I’m still standing on the ledge, looking at the cliff and not sure whether I want to leap off this year or not. If I try again, I want to give it a GOOD try. But I’m not quite ready to be writing my story (still doing prep work and research) so I don’t know if the timing will work out.

    We shall see!

Leave a Reply

