2 Comments

A Day In the Life of Heather

I was going back through the archives and found Ralene’s A Day In the Life of a Writer series. This went on while I was on “maternity leave”, and so I thought I’d share my day now, just for fun.

6:00 am: I have set my alarm for this awful hour yet again, determined to get a little bit of writing done before Justin and Toby wake up for the day. My alarm goes off, practically giving me a heart attack even though I’ve chosen the prettiest, calmest ringtone my phone comes with. I briefly consider chucking the phone through the window, then remember that Justin has said if I break my iPhone, he’s not buying me another. I reconsider and instead turn the alarm off. Toby has by this time woken up, so I nurse him as I drift back to sleep.

Sometime later, Justin gets up. I usually don’t even wake up. He kisses me goodbye and sets off for work on the moped, though I only have the foggiest of memories of this time.

9:00 am: Toby wakes up demanding to be fed. I stagger out to the living room and nurse him in the recliner, sitting up, hoping I will stay awake. Generally I do…if I don’t, then this whole post is moot and I usually don’t get anything done for the day. So I find myself breakfast and give the kid some puree and rice cereal. After he’s emptied half his sippy cup down his front, I un-stick-ify him and get us both ready for the day. Usually this involves bribing Toby with a rice cracker or his johnny-jump-up toy so I can shower without him having a meltdown.

After this, we play and I get Toby to practice sitting up. We giggle and take lots of pictures. I try to get in a few quick chores…making the bed, emptying the dishwasher, getting the laundry going. Toby has recently started the army-crawl thing, so I scatter a few toys around the living room floor so he can scramble from one to the other while I work.

11:00 am: Toby is a bottomless pit like Justin. I nurse him again until he falls asleep, put him in the crib, and sneak off to (hopefully) get a bit of writing done.

Noon-ish: Toby usually wakes up, so I snuggle with him in my bed, nurse him again, and usually fall asleep.

1:00 pm: My alarm goes off. Toby screams at it. I agree with him. We get up for more playtime and housework.

3:00 pm: The bottomless pit strikes again. And again, naptime and some writing.

4:00 pm: Justin gets home from work. We chatter for a little while as I get a few things prepped for supper. Toby briefly wakes up to say hello to Daddy, and then Justin puts Toby and himself down for a nap while I write some more.

5:00 pm: Justin and Toby get up and play while I make supper.

6:00 pm: Both bottomless pits are now hungry. I nurse Toby, then we all eat supper together and play for a while.

7:30 pm: Justin goes through Toby’s be

8:30-9:00 pm: Hopefully by this time Toby is asleep in his crib. Justin and I exercise, read, watch tv, or otherwise relax.

11:00-ish pm: Justin and I do some Bible reading, then we head to bed.

Midnight: The miniature bottomless pit demands to be fed.

3 am: Wash, rinse, and repeat.

6 am: My alarm goes off, and another day has started.

This is, of course, all flexible. Sometimes I have a Bible study or coffee with friends in the afternoon. Sometimes Mr. Drools-a-lot is teething and cranky. Vacations or several busy days in a row always tend to throw our routine off for a while. I’m just happy there’s a routine most days now! 🙂

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus is usually found with her nose in a book or spinning story-worlds in her head. Her love affair with fantasy began at age twelve, when her dad handed her The Lord of the Rings after listening to it on tape during a family vacation. Her stories have been published in Digital Dragon Magazine, Residential Aliens Magazine, and four anthologies: Alternative Witness; Avenir Eclectia Volume 1; The Tanist's Wife and Other Stories; and Different Dragons Volume II. In December 2013, her short story "Dragon Dance" won Honorable Mention in a Writers of the Future contest. She lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband and young son, who do their best to ensure she occasionally emerges into the real world. When she's not writing, she can be found rock-climbing, skiing, or hanging out at her online home, hatitus.wordpress.com.

2 comments on “A Day In the Life of Heather

  1. Ah, life with a baby. I remember it well. Wait til kid #2! 😛

  2. Ah, yes, I remember those days. Ditto to what Ralene said! 🙂

Leave a Reply

