12 Comments

Good News

It’s funny how the publishing business works.

A few short sentences can make your day or be a total downer.

If it’s a request for a full manuscript or an offer of a contract, it’s like the clouds have parted for your own personal rainbow. If it’s a rejection, it can feel like your dog just died.

I still remember when I received my email from OakTara with a contract offer. I glanced down at my phone while at work, saw the Chief Editor’s name, and froze. When I reached the end of the email, I jumped out of my office chair with a loud WAHOO.

All of a sudden, revisions and editing weren’t so hard. I didn’t care anymore that I’d revised the book six times. I could do it ten more times!

Life had been breathed into the work of my heart.

My editor at OakTara has been in and out of the hospital for the last few months, so it felt a bit like my project went dark. I focused on book two and prayed for her recovery (not with any connection to my work). But over time it’s easy to lose that jolt of excitement and doubt yourself. I’ve been dreading writing a transitional scene and felt a bit bogged down the last few weeks.

good-news

Today, I got another one of those adrenaline-injecting emails. She was back at work and excited to start on my project.

WAHOO!

It’s strange. That scene doesn’t seem so daunting anymore. I think I could knock out thirty thousand words this week if I had the time.

Isn’t this business crazy? And I thought musicians were emotional.

About Will Ramirez

Will Ramirez grew up with a love for God's Word and fantastical worlds. The first passion led him to pastor Calvary Chapel Lighthouse for the the last 17 years. The second led him to create the world of Adme, the setting for his coming debut novel, an epic fantasy titled Soul Yearning. He lives in Central Florida with his bride of seventeen years and their four children. Since 2010, he's been a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers and serves on the leadership team of Word Weavers of Orlando. He is currently working on the second book of the Godslayer series as well as The Unspoken, book one of a dark fantasy trilogy. In the land of Adme, powerful beings rule as deities and compete with one another for followers. But when a young priest is revealed as the prophesied godslayer, the pantheon unites to destroy him.

12 comments on “Good News

  1. We are. Musicians who are also songwriters and creative writers, such as I am, triply so. 😉

    Congratulations. 😀 😀 😀

    I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to fill the request for a full manuscript that I have, but I’m surely trying – mostly it’s a matter of letting my thoughts simmer long enough to get a full logical framework in which to write. For me, an ENFP on the Myers-Briggs grid, that is. 😉

  2. Congrats! It’s great when hard work pays off! Some good news can really boost a writer’s confidence.

    S.G.B.

  3. So true. That roller coaster ride is very familiar to me.

    The Bible — especially the New Testament — speaks much of patience (root word indicating constancy) and maintaining a peace-full heart. Keeping hold of our confidence and having joy in all circumstances.

    Because of that, I have been seeking a way to maintain an even keel in my creative (and life) endeavors. One thing that works — as often as I remember to apply it — is to keep certain truths in front of my eyes and meditate on them in an active way that causes those truths to remain alive to my heart.

    Things like:

    *** God made me exactly the way I am for His reasons. When I am REALLY being who God made me to be, I will reach the people God made me to reach! ***

    *** God has given me this writing assignment, not man. Whether anybody else is interested, whether anybody else even knows about it, it is a PRIORITY because my King assigned it. I will give Him all my HEART, SOUL, MIND & STRENGTH. ***

    Many times these little revelations come to me during church services, but also while listening to worship music while I drive, or while listening to preaching videos while I clean the house. I live the normal life of a homeschooling mom, but seek to pour into my mind and heart more of His influence and thoughts than what I take in of the world or my own worries.

    Sometimes I think we underestimate how COMPLETELY He will fill our minds and hearts with His wisdom and peace if we are just willing to tip the ratio of input to our brains in His favor. 🙂

    • Very good! 😀 To those revelations though I have to add (for myself) such biblical admonitions as “test the spirits to see whether they are of God”. Sometimes what we may think is God’s leading, really isn’t. Anything that leads us to deny certain truths, however subtly, can’t be used by Him and isn’t from Him. And that right there is the nature of the internal conflict I deal with in writing speculative fiction.

      Right now I’m pushing envelopes on the dark side of my fictional Metacosmos because there seems to be a need in me and in the larger world alike to do so – not for self-aggrandizement but to affirm rather than to deny that “Jesus Christ has come in the flesh”. I risk being very sorely misunderstood by many of my readers and friends along the way. But if it’s useful to people pursuant to the two aims you have just stated, and if it also fulfills the request for a book-length manuscript from one of my favorite, awe-inspiring publishers, then it’s all good and it’s worth the risks involved. I know that whatever situation you face, you believe and feel the same.

      • Absolutely, John. It’s probably taken me 10 years of seeking the Lord and having it confirmed over and over again to be sure of those particular revelations about me and my calling.

        Testing the spirit and often asking the Lord for specific scriptures to confirm things He tells me seems to keep things on track. I must say, though, I prefer the possibility of making a mistake in hearing from the Lord to not believing it’s possible to hear from Him. By far. (No offense to any believer who subscribes to a different perspective on the scriptures.)

        Everything for me boils down to trusting Him. Not relying on circumstances for my motivation or encouragement or direction, but relying on my daily interactions with Him.

        There are so many conflicting voices out there. So many paths that could be chosen.

        I’ve come to see that in the end, it’s not going to be my skill or my “platform” or my marketing efforts that get the stories I write into the proper hands. It’s going to be His favor, His touch. As long as I’m faithful to do the things He’s leading me to do day to day, I don’t have to stress about whether or not I gain success by any other measure.

        The deep inner peace that comes with fully embracing that truth is so precious to me right now that when I feel myself anxious or frustrated or stressed, I quickly run to Him and dump my ambitions and desires into His hands so I can regain that peace.

        But hey, I’m human. Sometimes I go for weeks or even months before realizing how much I’ve gathered back into my own hands and started carrying.

        Lately this lesson has been fresh on my mind as I step into a new phase of my writing journey. “I need Thee every hour” pops into my head pretty often these days.

    • I’m so glad you shared this. I started to blog (toward the end) about how important it is to be steadfast, unmovable, and always abounding in the Lord’s work where it concerns our writing. I realized that the blog would end up too long and lose some of its humanity. So, I erased it before hitting the “publish” button.

      The truth is I didn’t realize how much I needed to grow in my trust in the Lord and His commands/promises until I started down the path of publication.

      Pretty cool that you shared about this when it was on my heart as well – Good stuff!

      • Yes! Same here. I thought I was pretty confident in my writing until I started interacting with other writers and going to writing conferences. Then I realized I still put so much of my sense of value in what others thought of my story.

        Every step along the way, I find opportunity to practice my faith in areas as yet untested. Just when I think that I’m unflappable, I find myself upset by something someone says on Facebook. Just when I think I’m the consummate professional in my web design business, I get a client who tests me six ways to Sunday and leaves me crying or wanting to slap them. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve written ranting tantrums of the grandest sort in an email draft and then never sent them. Or long, rambling journal entries of blackest depression that stayed between myself and God alone.

        I don’t mind admitting that. No good comes of pretending we don’t struggle with the same things everybody else does.

        But I will never stop believing that “peace that passes understanding” is possible in all circumstances. I choose to believe that I have the power in Christ to master and crucify my carnal nature. I want to walk full in the truth of everything I am “in Christ”. I will never stop seeking to yield myself more to that truth, until fewer and fewer things upset me, distract me, derail me, dominate me.

        It’s so important that we continue to believe what He promised until it becomes manifest in our lives. Thanks for opening the opportunity to talk about this and stir each other up to good works!

  4. This is excellent news INDEED! =D

  5. Reblogged this on Tales of the Undying Singer and commented:
    It’s always good to hear when a writer who seeks to be “authentic” (what is usually meant these days when we mean “sincere”) is given an opportunity to send in a book-length manuscript.. A good spec-fic story serving noble aims is becoming all too rare in this world!

  6. SOLI DEO GLORIA!!!

    Frater Haroldus

  7. Touched by everything here, especially the comments. Something I’m struggling with, too.

Leave a Reply

