21 Comments

Mystical and Magical

vampire eyesMy question for this week:

What is your favorite mystical/magical/supernatural race or animal? These can be from movies or books, specific or general.

I’m going to be all girlie and say that my favorite mystical animal is the unicorn. I was obsessed with unicorns as a child–everything in my bedroom had to do with unicorns. One of these days, I’m determined to work a unicorn into one of my fantasy novels. I have an idea for one–we’ll see if it comes to pass sometime soon. I like that in the mystical worlds they typically stand for all that is pure and good.

I don’t know that I have a favorite race, per se, but I will say that I’ve always been partial to vampires and elves. I liked vampires before the craze began! My favorite elves come from Lord of the Rings.

Now it’s your turn! What are your favorites . . . and why?

About Ralene Burke

Whether she’s wielding a fantasy writer’s pen, a freelance editor’s sword, or a social media wand, Ralene Burke always has her head in some dreamer’s world. And her goal is to make it SHINE! She has worked for a variety of groups, including Realm Makers, The Christian PEN, Kentucky Christian Writers Conference, and as an editor for a number of freelance clients. Her first novel, Bellanok, is being published as a 4-part serial! When her head’s not in the publishing world, she is wife to a veteran and homeschooling mama to their three kids. Her Pinterest board would have you believe she is a master chef, excellent seamstress, and all around crafty diva. If she only had the time . . .

21 comments on “Mystical and Magical

  1. Fairies because when you are on a hike, camping, or just in the back yard among clovers, plants and trees; imagine the possibilities. Did you just see flutter out of the corner of your eyes while you are laying in the grass looking at the blue sky with the white clouds dancing…. Was that leaf that blew in the wind hiding a pair of twinkling eyes? Stirs the imagination.

  2. Hmmm. I would definitely say it’s a toss up between unicorns and dragons. One of the first books that got me totally hooked on fantasy was Madeleine L’Engle’s A Swiftly Tilting Planet, which I bought at a school book fair for the very mature reason of it having a flying unicorn on the cover. 😀 I read it over and over, and still love Gaudior for his patient guidance of an impetuous Charles Wallace.

    And dragons? They just transcend explanation as to why they would be fascinating. I don’t camp in the philosophy they have to be evil, though.

    • A thought, Rebecca: wouldn’t dragons, like real-world demons, have their own technically self-righteous ideas of “good”, “evil” and allegedly “neutral”, all apart from God (which is the point)? One could play with that idea and I just might. Alternatively, dragons which actually submit to God bring up interesting possibilities too.

      • Sorry I didn’t see this until now, John. I should have checked the “email notifications” box.

        That’s basically the way I come at it–the dragons of my world that are good are in submission to the world’s Creator, and that’s the only reason they don’t just run amok with the immense power they have. Good thoughts!

    • Adding A Swiflty Tilting Planet to my reading list! Dragons are awesome. I’m with you that they don’t have to be evil. I’ve seen/read some great stories where they weren’t–or didn’t have to be.

  3. Can I cheat and say that my favorite “mystical/magical” creatures are of my own invention: Archons? No? Aww. ::: kicks dirt clod :::

    Well, perhaps you have a point. Archons – like their Lightchild allies – wield supernatural powers which those of “magical” realms consider “magical” or “mystical”, even if strictly speaking they’re not. Archons are dual-phase beings, living half on the material, half on the spiritual plane. This is what gives them their special powers.

    Well, then, I’ll have to say genies. If I could be any thingy in the mystical/magical world, it would be a genie. I assume that I could shapeshift into anything I wanted, teleport, have transcendent cosmic power despite the itty bitty living space, have my sense of humor exalted to Robin Williams’ level of brilliance, and most of all, be set free by a kind master after he asks three very wise wishes (the third one being to set me free). 😀

  4. I have always loved dragons. Even Smaug. They can fly and breathe fire! What can be cooler than that? 🙂

    • Dragons fascinate me too, but while I like to see others play with the idea that dragons don’t have to be evil, the few I have are because the Dragon of Chaos their boss is (he’s the Devil in Prison, natch). Draco Wynterwilde, who features in my fiction, is so big and bad he lives near the astronomical “Monster at the Core”, the supermassive black hole at the center of the Milky Way (OK, my alternative-universe parallel, the Ring of Stars).

      But yes, however morally situated dragons are cool. 😀 I still would rather be a genie. 😉

  5. Make that “phenomenal cosmic power”, just to get the quote right. 😉 Even “almost phenomenal, nearly cosmic” would work.

    On second thought, just make me the ENFP equivalent of the ESFP Thor (in Marvel’s movie THOR). Indeed, one of the Warriors Three, the swordsman, is a fellow ENFP. I ought to find out more about him.

    On third thought, just make me my own ENFP Alain Harper. Now THERE is “magic”. 😀

    • John, you are crackin’ me up! Thank you for hanging out with us on here today. If I could be a genie like on Aladdin, then yes, that would be cool! However, most genies are portrayed in fiction as tricksters and such. I wouldn’t like that. Maybe you could give genies a better connotation.

      • Psychologically, Aladdin’s Genie is already playing to the literary Trickster, so we’re covered by a precedent. 😀 But consider: like Robin Williams himself, he’s an ENFP. He also has highly developed morals. This has implications!

        Let me revert to Jung-speak for a few moments. Genie’s 7th level cognitive process (according to the eight-level model of personality type developed by Dr. Linda Berens et al.) is sometimes called the Trickster due to its archetypal role, but as an ENFP has his faculty for dealing with logical frameworks on that level, it enables an ENFP (in real life and even more in fiction) to employ “Cartoon Physics” in defense or offense. Doing so is morally neutral – the morality is determined by another faculty of the mind, which for an ENFP is “good-parental” in archetype.

        In the literary sense, my Alain Harper–no genie he, but one of the few literary inventions I know of able to go toe-to-toe with one–has much of the Trickster in him. But he’s a good Trickster. Like Bugs Bunny, he is especially good at beating the Wile E. Coyotes (and more evil versions of the same) of his milieu at their own game. His psychological Trickster is 7th-level Introverted Thinking: the capacity to deal with logical frameworks. Consider by comparison how Bugs uses the same faculty in the same way to beat Wile E. at his own Introverted Thinking game. Good ENFPs outwitting evil INTPs is a mainstay of classic Warner Bros. Looney Toon humor. 😀 And in the Disney film we see both Aladdin and the Genie dealing with Jafar in the same way – the type dynamic seems to be identical (ENFP vs. INTP).

        Each personality type has its own Trickster “archetype” (one out of eight possible). So there should be eight different types of “literary” Tricksters, but ENFPs and ENTPs seem to be disproportionate in numbers (STAR TREK’S Q notably is neither). And there another dynamic may be operating (this is my joke):

        ENTP = Rebel Without a Cause
        ENFP = Rebel Without a Clue

        I’m glad you like my humor, and hope this lengthy answer isn’t overbearing.

      • Just for the record, a villain I’ve been developing looks more and more like he’ll have genie-like powers in order to do what he needs to do to fight my heroes, especially Alain. Oh, well. 😉

  6. I’m with you, Ralene. Unicorns all the way 🙂

  7. I love griffins, but it’s so hard to find any books about them that aren’t Mercedes Lackey. Song of the Summer King thrilled my little griffin-lover heart, and I’m eagerly awaiting the next book. Diana Wynne Jones has a few griffins, like the one in the Pinhoe Egg.

    Unicorns are interesting if they’re done differently. I just finished Stengl’s Moonblood, and the unicorn was an eldritch abomination, which was …. interesting.

    I’d like to find a book with a main character that’s a sphinx. An indie author in a writer’s group on Facebook had a pretty decent one, but that’s been the first one I’ve seen.

  8. Orcs/goblins. Small, nasty, much stronger than they appear, single-minded, implacable, fierce in battle, brutal subjects and objects of fear. I know. I’m challenged.

  9. […] Monday, I was over at New Authors Fellowship where we had a fun discussion about our favorite fantasy/supernatural character races/animals. […]

Leave a Reply

