10 Comments

Cricket Warfare 101: Sabotage

We now resume the transcript of a conversation between crickets in Avily’s walls, a continuation of this transcript:

sabotageNow, I know what you’re thinking, and let me assure you, that way only leads to being the center of a floor-shoe sandwich. I know, I know, this is war. But sometimes in war when you’re out-manned and out-gunned, you have to change your tactics. Rethink your strategies.

I’m talking about sabotage.

I get it, you’re a soldier. You like things straight-forward. Man-to-cricket combat. I’ve been there. I understand. But this is not a matter of being dishonorable. Guerrilla warfare is part of our makeup. Being underhanded and sneaky is what we do.

Let me give you an example.

Clothes.

Don’t get me wrong, we can eat through anything. Why, I’ve gnawed my way through more than one sheet of drywall and a fair bit of carpet, too, but clothes are my favorite and I’ll tell you why.

It’s not just about the comfortable, home-cooked flavor of cotton or the way silk slides over your tongue. There’s nothing like a nibble of freshly-washed blouse in my opinion, but what gives it that extra zip is not the flavor of dryer sheet or the synthetic blend of the fabric. No, the sweetness comes from the knowledge that with every bite you’re destroying the enemy a little at a time.

No, I’m serious. Think about it. You’ve gorged yourself in Avily’s closet, and she goes to get dressed up to go somewhere special and when she puts on her new favorite shirt, it’s riddled with holes. Not only have you ruined a perfectly good piece of clothing which she now has to wear for painting or throw out, you’ve also killed a little piece of her soul. You’ve showed her that no matter how many traps she sets, no matter how much insecticide she sprays, you’ve won. Even if she kills you, she can never get that shirt back.

That’s what I mean by sabotage. It’s destroying the enemy one outfit at a time.

About Avily Jerome

Avily Jerome is a writer and the editor of Havok Magazine. Her short stories have been published in various magazines, both print and digital. She has judged several writing contests and is a writing conference teacher and presenter. She writes speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to epic fantasies to supernatural thrillers.

10 comments on “Cricket Warfare 101: Sabotage

  1. Almost as bad: having roaches hide and lay eggs in your clothing. Yuck.

  2. I had no idea crickets ate clothes. We had a lot of dead ones in our house in Phoenix. Our cat loved to eat them.

  3. […] The continuing transcript retrieved by our spies in the Great Cricket War. Previously: Subtlety;  Sabotage […]

  4. […] read the beginning of this transcript, please see:      Subtlety    Sabotage     […]

  5. […] since we’ve had one of our chats. Of course you recall our conversations on Subtlety and on Sabotage, and I know you haven’t forgotten our discussions about Misdirection and Psychological […]

  6. […] who knows how I feel about crickets (Cricket Warfare 101: Subtlety, Sabotage, Misdirection, Psychological Warfare, Treaties and Allies) can well imagine how I feel about […]

Leave a Reply

